"... consists of 74 stereographic prints taken by Alfred A. Hart from circa 1866 to circa 1869. The Central Pacific Railroad hired Hart as its official photographer to record progress on the California end. The collection consists of views made along the line of the Central Pacific Railroad in California, Nevada and Utah during construction, and includes scenes in the Sierra Nevada mountains, in the Sacramento Valley, on Donner Lake and near Great Salt Lake. Also included are scenes depicting the celebration following the completion of the Transcontinental Railroad and the driving of the final spike at Promontory, Utah on May 10, 1869. The stereographs are arranged by and numbered with the photographer's number. "
"The papers of Abraham Lincoln (1809-1865), lawyer, representative from Illinois, and sixteenth president of the United States, contain approximately 40,550 documents dating from 1774 to 1948, although most of the collection spans from the 1850s through Lincoln’s presidency (1861-1865). Roughly half of the collection, more than 20,000 documents, comprising 62,000 images, as well as transcriptions of approximately 10,000 documents, is online. Included on this website in their entirety are Series 1-3 of the Lincoln Papers and the original materials in Series 4. Excluded from this online presentation is a sizeable portion of Series 4, which consists of printed material and reproductions of government and military documents made from originals in the holdings of the National Archives and Records Administration."
"In their early years, railroads did much more than carry passengers across the country. The Iron Horse helped settle the West by building rail branches to uncharted areas. The Denver Public Library’s Digital Collections includes 20,000+ historical railroad photographs from notable railroad photographers such as Robert Richardson and Otto Perry, including a large portion of Perry’s works"
"... signed into law by President Abraham Lincoln on July 1, 1862. This act provided Federal government support for the building of the first transcontinental railroad, which was completed on May 10, 1869."
"This collection features images that highlight engineering and technological developments in steam engines, railway design and practice, locomotive engineering, and other major landmarks in the evolution of the railroad. The collection covers a period of the earliest developments, such as the 16th century woodcut of mine wagons from Agricola's De Re Metallica, to the latter part of the 19th century with William Maw's example of the "modern" Chanute Bridge in Kansas City, Missouri. The collection is built on images presented in the exhibition Locomotion: Railroads in the Early Age of Steam and is part of the online exhibition The Transcontinental Railroad: A History of Railroad Technology, which was made possible by BNSF Railway."
"The expansion of railroads in the 19th century was concomitant with an expansion of communications in the periodical literature that gave rise to such publications as American Railroad Journal and Mechanics Magazine. This collection contains these and other journals that contain a wealth of information pertaining to the growth of railroads in the United States. They vividly illustrate the evolution of railroad technology in words and images. The Railroad Journals collection is part of the online exhibition The Transcontinental Railroad: A History of Railroad Technology, which was made possible by BNSF Railway."
"Railroad Maps, 1828-1900, a subset of Maps, is a collection of maps that represent an important historical record, illustrating the growth of travel and settlement as well as the development of industry and agriculture in the United States. They depict the development of cartographic style and technique, highlighting the achievement of early railroaders. Included in the collection are progress report surveys for individual lines, official government surveys, promotional maps, maps showing land grants and rights-of-way, and route guides published by commercial firms."
"A collection of 19th century maps, routes, and plans taken from American railroad journals and other sources. Detailed maps and bold graphic imagery illustrate the enthusiasm developers brought to the new mode of transportation. This collection is part of the online exhibition The Transcontinental Railroad: A History of Railroad Technology, which was made possible by BNSF Railway."
From PBS The American Experience: "Harper's Weekly reported on the progress of the transcontinental railroad throughout its construction. These excerpts, organized chronologically, report on conflicts with Native Americans, the terms of a peace treaty, the commercial benefits of the railroad for New York City, and the machine shops of Omaha."
"The transcontinental railroad connected the east and west coasts of the United States with a single rail line. This had a profound impact on the nation as a whole, and on California — the end of the line — in particular. The images in this group show different aspects of the railroad, including workers, travelers, tracks, railroad bridges, and trains."