"Native American / European-American interaction has been a topic of popular interest and concern and scholarly research in this country since Jamestown. The materials in this collection were selected from the Kenneth Hammer Collection at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater to make available to a wider audience rare and interesting nineteenth century views on Native Americans, the Indian wars of the late-nineteenth century, life in the West, and George Armstrong Custer. Among the items are the recollections of an Army wife who followed her husband throughout the West and scholarly investigations from the 1840's on Native American history and culture." University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
"Read the words of explorers, Indians, missionaries, traders and settlers as they lived through the founding moments of American history. View, search, print, or download more than 150 rare books, original manuscripts, and classic travel narratives from the library and archives of the Wisconsin Historical Society."
"Comprises 253 published narratives by Americans and foreign visitors recounting their travels in the colonies and the United States and their observations and opinions about American peoples, places, and society from about 1750 to 1920. Also included is the thirty-two-volume set of manuscript sources entitled Early Western Travels, 1748-1846, published between 1904 and 1907 after diligent compilation by the distinguished historian and secretary of the Wisconsin Historical Society Reuben Gold Thwaites. Although many of the authors represented in American Notes are not widely known, the collection includes works by major figures such as Matthew Arnold, Fredrika Bremer, William Cullen Bryant, François-René de Chateaubriand, William Cobbett, James Fenimore Cooper, J. Hector St. John de Crèvecoeur, Charles Dickens, Washington Irving, Benjamin Henry Latrobe, Sir Charles Lyell, William Lyon Mackenzie, André Michaux, Thomas Nuttall, Frederick Law Olmsted, and Robert Louis Stevenson. The narratives in American Notes therefore range from the unjustly neglected to the justly famous, and from classics of the genre to undiscovered gems. Together, they build a mosaic portrait of a young nation."
"This website provides a look into some of the stories and pictures which kept 19th century readers informed and entertained, and thereby preserves a unique documentation of life west of the Mississippi."
"This section of New Perspectives on THE WESTprovides a library of primary source materials on the history of the American West, reflecting the five years' research that went into the production of THE WEST. Included are the full texts of many memoirs, journals, diaries, letters, autobiographies and other documents excerpted in the television series, together with a selection from the thousands of archival photographs and other images gathered for the project, many of which could not be incorporated into the final version of the film." PBS
"This online collection contains a selection of photographs, maps, broadsides, architectural drawings and other documents from the collections of the Western History/Genealogy Department chronicling the people, places, and events that shaped the settlement and growth of the Western United States. The work of many outstanding photographers is represented and the collection includes images of Native Americans, pioneers, railroads, mining, Denver and Colorado towns, Buffalo Bill’s Wild West Show, the 10th Mountain Division ski troops and many more. New images are continually being added chronicling the ongoing development of Western America."
"Digital Horizons is an online treasure house of thousands of images, documents, video, and oral histories depicting life on the Northern Plains from the late 1800s to today. Here you'll find a fascinating snapshot of the lives, culture, and history of the people who shaped life on the prairies. "
"... kept its audience well informed about the most intriguing development of the era: the exploration and settlement of the American West. The West represented opportunity and adventure. Americans were fascinated with the stories which Harper's Weekly brought to life with illustrations. The editorials and commentary describe a life which many readers could barely imagine."
"A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints."
"The Mountain West Digital Library is a central search portal for digital collections about the Mountain West region. We provide free access to over 807,000 resources from universities, colleges, public libraries, museums, historical societies, and government agencies, counties, and municipalities in Utah, Nevada, Idaho, Arizona, Hawaii, and other parts of the U.S. West. - See more at: http://mwdl.org/index.php#sthash.Y7ccIyiF.dpuf"
"On April 3, 1860, riders began a relay message service between St. Joseph, Missouri and San Francisco, California. Could the lively crowds that cheered those first riders off on their journey have imagined that decades later this relatively short-lived service would become a lively piece of American popular culture? While the Pony Express itself ended 18 months after it’s energetic start, its story lived on through wild west shows, dime novels, and movies."
"... is a bilingual, multi-format English-Spanish digital library site that explores the interactions between Spain and the United States in America from the fifteenth to the early nineteenth centuries." National Library of Spain, the Biblioteca Colombina y Capitular of Seville and the Library of Congress
"The Utah Academic Library Consortium, in conjunction with the Mountain West Digital Library, has launched a pioneer legacy digital project wherein 19th century overland migration will be examined from every aspect: transportation, trail and camp life, Indian depredations or encounters, diseases, medicine and surgery, politics and government, gold rush, religion, company organization, path finding and, wherever possible, perspectives from non-traditional viewpoints (women, children, minorities, etc.)."
"Consists of photographs of Indians of the Americas and views of the American West, including landscapes, cityscapes, and mining,railroad, and agricultural operations. Also included are views of towns in Mexico. The bulk of the photographs date from the 19th century."
"The Collection of Western Americana consists of books, manuscripts, maps, art, prints, photographs, and printed ephemera which document the exploration, settlement, and development of the Trans-Mississippi West through World War I." A small selection from this collection is provided online.
"... is a special collection within the University of Oklahoma Libraries system. Its purpose is to enhance the University Libraries general collection on the history of the American West; to support the research and teaching programs of the University of Oklahoma; and to provide opportunities for research through the acquisition, preservation, and access of materials relating to the development of the Trans-Mississippi West and Native American cultures."
The Western Waters Digital Library (WWDL) provides free public access to digital collections of significant primary and secondary resources on water in the western United States. These collections have been made available by research libraries belonging to the Greater Western Library Alliance (GWLA) and other academic library partners. The WWDL is a valuable resource for researchers, policy makers, scholars, Native American tribes, professionals working in various fields, and others interested in contemporary and historic water issues.
Description from site
"As part of her Washington State University History 398 classes, professor Sue Armitage asked her students to conduct oral history interviews with women who had spent their early lives in the Pacific Northwest. Totaling over 230 hours of audio, this collection holds nearly 200 of these interviews, originally recorded between 1979 and 2005. The majority of the women interviewed were born between 1881 and the early 1930s, and the collection provides invaluable first hand documentation regarding the role of women in the northwest during the early and mid 1900s."
Book Sources: General Sources - The American West
A selection of books/e-books available in Trible Library.
Click the title for location and availability information.