LibGuides: Primary Sources: African-Americans: Labor & Economics

Online Sources: Labor and Economics

C. L. Dellums - Oral History Transcript
more...less...
International President of The Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters and civil rights leader : oral history transcript / and related material, 1970-1973
Court Documents Related to Martin Luther King, Jr., and Memphis Sanitation Workers
Executive Order 8802: Prohibition of Discrimination in the Defense Industry (1941)
U.S. National Archives
"In June of 1941, President Roosevelt issued Executive Order 8802, banning discriminatory employment practices by federal agencies and all unions and companies engaged in war-related work. The order also established the Fair Employment Practices Commission to enforce the new policy."
Frank Bryd's account of working as a Pullman Porter, 1939.
Wirtz Labor Library
more...less...
"... The collection includes: U.S. Department of Labor publications, trade union and labor history materials, labor leaders’ biographies, statistical abstracts and more."

Book Sources: Labor and Economics

A selection of books/e-books available in Trible Library.
Click the title for location and availability information.

Off campus access instructions (for e-books)

African Americans in the Industrial Age: A Documentary History, 1915-1945 by Joe W. Trotter and Earl Lewis
Call Number: E185.6 .A255 1996
ISBN: 9781555532581
All Labor Has Dignity by Martin Luther King, Jr.
Call Number: HD6971.8 .K56 2011
ISBN: 0807086002
"Gathered in one volume for the first time, the majority of these speeches will be new to most readers. The collection begins with King's lectures to unions in the 1960s and includes his addresses made during his Poor People's Campaign, culminating with his momentous "Mountaintop" speech..." Beacon Press
The American Economic History Reader by John W. Malsberger & James N. Marshall
Call Number: HC103 .A453 2009
ISBN: 0415962676
Documents and Readings
The American Economy: A Historical Encyclopedia by Cynthia L. Clark
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781598844610
"A separate primary source section that includes 32 important treaties, key political speeches, and more relating to the American economy from the Articles of Confederation period through the Obama Administration"
The Black Worker: A Documentary History from Colonial Times to the Present volume 1 to 1869 by Philip S. Foner (Editor); Ronald L. Lewis (Editor)
Call Number: E185.8 .B553
ISBN: 0877221367
Black Workers Remember: An Oral History of Segregation, Unionism, and the Freedom Struggle by Michael Keith Honey
Call Number: HD8081.A65 H66 1999 & Online
ISBN: 0520217748
Spanning the 1930s to the present
A Conversation with the Reverend Jesse Jackson by Jesse Jackson
Call Number: H1.A513 J13 C7
ISBN: 0844733113
The Quest for Economic and Educational Parity, held on May 16, 1978 at the American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research.
Selected documents pertaining to black workers... (Note: Does not contain the documents, only a bibliography of available documents.) by Debra L. Newman
Call Number: Z1361.N39 U512 S4
among the records of the Department of Labor and its component bureaus, 1902-1969
Tearing Down the Color Bar by Joseph F. Wilson
Call Number: HD6515.R362 B768 1989
ISBN: 0231064780
A Documentary History and Analysis of the Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters

Search for More

Suggested terms to look for include - diary, diaries, letters, papers, documents, documentary or correspondence.

Combine these these terms with the event or person you are researching. (example: civil war diary)

Also search by subject for specific people and events, then scan the titles for those keywords or others such as memoirs, autobiography, report, or personal narratives.