Library Research Checklist - PHIL 101 - Hutchinson - Spring 2024 - LibGuides at Christopher Newport University

BOOKS

Search the Trible Library catalog here:

Also available at: read.cnu.edu

WorldCat FirstSearch and WorldCat Discovery are helpful tools to search for material at other libraries. You can place ILL requests within both services.

Course text: A Workbook for Arguments : a Complete Course in Critical Thinking

This book is also on reserve at the main circulation desk in Trible Library.

EBOOKS

Fact Checking Resources

Search Tips PDF

Citations PDF

Scholarly Journal Article PDF

Full-Text Articles PDF

Research Vocabulary PDF

Other Library Guides

ARTICLES

Argument & Debate Databases:

FACTS.com - Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"explores and analyzes hundreds of hot topics in politics, business, government, crime, law, energy, education, health, family, science, foreign policy, race, rights, society, and culture. Updated weekly, with a wire-service newsfeed providing the latest headline stories, Issues & Controversies offers in-depth articles designed to inspire thought-provoking debates and research papers. Since its inception in 1995, Issues & Controversies has been a core student and educator resource for understanding and writing about contemporary events and conflicts, as well as for debate prep. It also provides comprehensive coverage and analysis every year of the National High School Debate Topic."

idebate.net Debatabase
Debatabase is an authoritative collection of over seven hundred debates mostly written by experienced debaters. They cover topics from the affirmative action to Zimbabwe, on all sorts of themes including politics, economics, religion, culture, science and society.
Pew Research Center

—————

News Databases:

FACTS.com - World News Digest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscriber: CNUProvides an archival record of domestic and international news. It covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940 and is is updated weekly.
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscriber: CNU
Access a variety of topics through full-text newspapers (U.S. and International), magazines, etc.
ProQuest News & Newspapers Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combined search of available ProQuest newspaper databases.

—————

General Databases:

EBSCOHost Research Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost Tutorial
Subscriber: VIVA/CNUProvides access to databases covering a variety of topics. Provides access to full-text for some items.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Tutorial
Subscriber: CNUAn online database of full-content articles from various journals in many subject areas including, but not limited to African American studies, Ecology, Economics, History, Literature and Mathematics. Many journals start with the first volume and issue; there is usually a delay of several years for accessing current issues.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Tutorial
Searches a variety of databases covering a wide range of topics. It provides access to full-text/image of many journals, as well as other data.

—————

Philosophy & Religion Databases:

Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
ATLA Religion - with selected full text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscriber: CNUThis database produced by the American Theological Library Association, indexes journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. It also includes full-text access to ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. The database begins in 1949, but also includes indexing for some journal titles extending back into the nineteenth century.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscriber: CNUBased on the multi-volume reference work, this online Encyclopedia is full text and covers most philosophical areas of study including Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy
MLA International Bibliography via EBSCO (with full-text) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE, and other resources. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography."
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscriber: CNUProduced by the Philosopher’s Information Center, this current and comprehensive bibliographic database covers scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. Considered the most thorough index of journal literature on the subject, this resource features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews.
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscriber: VIVACovering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy, this database offers nearly 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the database. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975 for some titles.
Religion Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides a wide range of primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought. Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.

—————

Off-Campus Access:

For off-campus access instructions, click here: Off-Campus Access

—————

Other Options:

Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL@CNU) to request books or journal articles that are not available at CNU; for example if you find an article in one of our databases but can't locate the full text of the article.

Google Scholar can be a useful resource. Read this information first to get the most out of it.

Journal Finder

If you have a citation, and you want to know if we have access to the article in our databases or print holdings, enter the journal title in the journal finder search box below. Select the database provider that has coverage of the date you need or fill out a print journal article request slip to have it retrieved for you.

PHIL 101 - Hutchinson - Spring 2024: Library Research Checklist

BOOKS

EBOOKS

Fact Checking Resources

Other Library Guides

ARTICLES

Journal Finder