Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What Are Open Textbooks?
Open textbooks are materials that are freely available, usually through a Creative Commons license, to download, modify, and print in various formats.
Traditional Textbooks vs. OER
Why should faculty adopt an open textbook?
Open textbooks are more affordable than commercially available textbooks and enable student education budgets to stretch further, giving students greater flexibility in their education choices. Faculty can readily customize open textbooks to better meet their local teaching and learning needs. Lastly, open textbooks provide pricing, flexibility and customization advantages that commercially available textbooks currently do not provide.
(from Lansing CC Library)
Research on Open Textbook Adoption Efficacy
Open Textbook Collections
The Open Textbook movement focuses on the creation and use of books which are openly licensed -- in short, free and editable. These textbooks are also openly licensed with a Creative Commons meaning that dependent on the license, they may be legally displayed/uploaded/hosted, distributed, modified, etc. without fee, permission, or conducting a fair use analysis. (See Creative Commons for more information on the various CC open licenses.)
Many of the collections will have links to the same books, but each collection has items unique to their collection.
Additional books that are not technically "open" are also listed. They may be "free online" but subject to copyright, or they may be low cost options.
OpenStax College offers free textbooks that meet scope and sequence requirements for most courses. These are peer-reviewed texts written by professional content developers.
Open Textbook Library
A catalog of open access textbooks to be reviewed by faculty members.
All textbooks in this catalog are openly licensed, complete, and available in print at very little cost.
British Columbia Campus Open Campus Textbook List
Openly licensed textbooks created by BCCampus, a consortium of post-secondary educational institutions in British Columbia.
Provides a platform for the full text dissemination of Open Access books and provides services to publishers and libraries. OAPEN builds a quality controlled collection of Open Access books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences.
"Textbook Revolution is a student-run site dedicated to increasing the use of free educational materials by teachers and professors. On this site you'll find links and reviews of textbooks and select educational resources."
A publisher of open access books and journals covering the fields of science, technology and medicine.
InTech has published more than 850 open access books, and provides support services for faculty who wish to publish a book or journal and make it available via open access.
Saylor Academy Open Textbooks
Collection of freely available open textbooks for download, online reading, and sharing.
Open Book: National Academies Press
A collection that provides access to thousands of e-books for free, usually as free PDF downloads.. Others can be purchased from the site if you prefer ebook or hardcopy format.
Flatworld provides faculty customizable books for a relatively low cost to students. Access to the content is primarily through their website. Flatworld is strongest in business.
Directory of Open Access Books
This site is a clearinghouse of links to academic, peer reviewed books hosted in various locations, and includes a large selection of international textbooks.
European eBook publisher with 1000+ textbooks freely available to download. E-books are primarily in business/economics, engineering/natural sciences and IT. Not specifically textbooks, but could be used in conjunction with other materials.