Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Named Collections Map and Overviews

A composite of Trible library's named collections, their respective locations, and associated contents.

Welcome

This LibGuide features the Mackenzie Collection and its 2018 donor, longest-serving editor of both the Richmond News Leader and the Richmond-Times Dispatch, Ross Mackenzie. The collection is located in Room 1218 on the first floor of the library near the East entrance.

All documents featured in this guide (i.e. articles and bibliography) were supplied by Ross Mackenzie himself.

Ross Mackenzie (1941-)

Photo courtesy of Bob Brown, Richmond Times-Dispatch

On Sunday, November 11, 2018 the Trible Library dedicated the new Special Collections Room in the Trible Library to the personal book collection of Ross Mackenzie, the longest-serving Editorial Page editor in the history of Richmond newspapers. Mr. Mackenzie is also the only person to serve as editorial editor of both the Richmond News Leader and the Richmond Times-Dispatch. Ross retired in 2006. During his years at the newspapers, Mackenzie wrote more than 20,000 editorials and columns, some of which are digitized on this web site.

 

 Transfer to CNU of his 3,500-volume collection, housed in a quiet, 16-by-20-foot woodland study built by Ross himself decades ago, began in 2017. The collection reflects the intellectual energy and interests of Ross, much of which informed his editorials.  Ross states that his motive in giving the collection to CNU: "Paul Trible has built a school based on the values of honor, leadership, and service [which are] crucial themes of my collection".  Ross continues to stay connected to the collection by actively suggesting contemporary titles to add to keep the collection useful to the academic programs at CNU.

References

Beres, Robin. "Robin Beres column: Ross Mackenzie donates a lifetime of collected wisdom." (2018, September 15), Richmond-Times Dispatch. Retrieved from https://www.richmond.com/

Editorial: CNU dedication of Mackenzie reading room. (2018, November 12), Richmond-Times DispatchRetrieved from https://www.richmond.com/

Works of the Mackenzie Collection

The Four Loves

About: C.S. Lewis's famous work on the nature of love divides love into four categories: Affection, Friendship, Eros and Charity. The first three are loves which come naturally to the human race. Charity, however, the Gift-love of God, is divine in its source and expression, and without the sweetening grace of this supernatural love, the natural loves become distorted and even dangerous.

Call Number: NC790 .S54 1974

Stewardship

About: Stewardship was provocative, even revolutionary, when it was first published in 1993, and it remains every bit as relevant and radical today. Most organizations still rely on patriarchy and hierarchy as their core form of governance, stifling initiative and spirit and alienating people from the work they do. Peter Block asserts that a fundamental shift in how we distribute power, privilege, and the control of money can transform every part of an organization for the better, and he examines the nitty-gritty of implementing these reforms. This revised and expanded edition includes a new introduction by Block addressing what has and hasn't changed since the first edition and a new chapter on applying stewardship to the common good of the wider community. This visionary yet pragmatic book is sure to open your mind and change the way you do your job forever.

Call Number: ND237.S469 A4 1981

The Boys in the Boat

About: The #1 New York Times–bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant. It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington’s eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet they did, going on to shock the world by defeating the German team rowing for Adolf Hitler. The emotional heart of the tale lies with Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not only to regain his shattered self-regard but also to find a real place for himself in the world. Drawing on the boys’ own journals and vivid memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, Brown has created an unforgettable portrait of an era, a celebration of a remarkable achievement, and a chronicle of one extraordinary young man’s personal quest.

Call Number: ND1535 .S5

The Adams-Jefferson Letters

About: An intellectual dialogue of the highest plane achieved in America, the correspondence between John Adams and Thomas Jefferson spanned half a century and embraced government, philosophy, religion, quotidiana, and family griefs and joys. First meeting as delegates to the Continental Congress in 1775, they initiated correspondence in 1777, negotiated jointly as ministers in Europe in the 1780s, and served the early Republic--each, ultimately, in its highest office. At Jefferson's defeat of Adams for the presidency in 1800, they became estranged, and the correspondence lapses from 1801 to 1812, then is renewed until the death of both in 1826, fifty years to the day after the Declaration of Independence.

Call Number:  E322.A214 A2

All The King's Men: A Play

About: More than just a classic political novel, Warren’s tale of power and corruption in the Depression-era South is a sustained meditation on the unforeseen consequences of every human act, the vexing connectedness of all people and the possibility—it’s not much of one—of goodness in a sinful world. Willie Stark, Warren’s lightly disguised version of Huey Long, the onetime Louisiana strongman/governor, begins as a genuine tribune of the people and ends as a murderous populist demagogue. Jack Burden is his press agent, who carries out the boss’s orders, first without objection, then in the face of his own increasingly troubled conscience. And the politics? For Warren, that’s simply the arena most likely to prove that man is a fallen creature. Which it does.

Call Number: PS3545.A748 A7 1946

Trible Library provides links to other websites to aid in research and is not responsible for the content or privacy policy of those sites.