Primary Sources: Civil Rights in America - Events: Tulsa Race Massacre (1921)

Available items include: Red Cross Report; Chamber of Commerce Minutes; Race Commission Report; and B.C. Franklin Eyewitness Account. Also includes resources for teachers.

"Survivors of the Tulsa Race Massacre appeared at a hearing marking the centennial of the 1921 attack in which a white mob attacked residents, homes, and businesses in a predominantly Black Tulsa, Oklahoma, neighborhood. "

"The final report is contained here in PDF format. This document is over 170 pages with photographs." from the Oklahoma Historical Society website

"The documents in this collection describe one of the darkest episodes in American history. The Tulsa Race Massacre of 1921 constituted two days of violence that left an unconfirmed number of dead citizens and destroyed 35 square blocks of the prosperous Greenwood neighborhood. The Tulsa Race Massacre has also been known as the “Tulsa Race Riot” and the “Greenwood Massacre.”

This blog entry from the Library of Congress provides several newspaper articles from the time as well as other related links.

Includes items such as Commission Report, related books and articles and the stories of the survivors of the Tulsa Race Riot of 1921.
The TRC "is sponsored by the Center for Racial Justice, Inc. a 501c3 organization"

"In an article in the magazine Survey, Amy Comstock, personal secretary to the editor of the Tulsa Tribune, attempted to deflect attention from Tulsa’s white citizenry by fixing blame for the 1921 riot on an ostensibly impoverished and licentious black community. Comstock argued that the responsibility for improving conditions, and for enforcing law and order, in this bustling community rested with white officials. "

"Walter White, an official of the NAACP, traveled to Tulsa in disguise to survey the damage caused by the 1921 race riot. His report, one of many articles on the riot, was published in the Nation in the summer of 1921. "

The Ruth Sigler Avery Archive consists of research material arranged alphabetically by topic, photographic reproductions of scenes following the riot, audio interviews and transcripts, and handwritten and computer generated writings and drafts produced by Ruth Sigler Avery for her proposed book: Fear, The Fifth Horseman: A Documentary-Anthology of the 1921 Tulsa Race Riot.
Finding aids for the collection and more information on the OSU-Tulsa Library Special Collections and Archives can be found here https://tulsa.okstate.edu/library/archives