Primary Sources: People - The American Revolution: Adams, John

"...presents images of manuscripts and digital transcriptions from the Adams Family Papers, one of the most important collections of the Massachusetts Historical Society."

"Here in one, easily accessible resource you will find the content of the previously printed volumes of the Adams Papers, a long-standing documentary edition prepared at the Massachusetts Historical Society. This digital edition includes all text of the historical documents and all editorial text. There is a single consolidated index for volumes published through 2006, while the indexes for more recent volumes appear separately. "

Access a selection of presidential papers online. Provided by Project Avalon at Yale.

Collections of the Massachusetts Historical Society contains a variety of letters, diaries and other papers relating to early America and the Revolution; mainly focused on New England colonies, but other colonies are also mentioned.

“From John Adams to Hezekiah Niles, 13 February 1818,” Founders Online, National Archives, https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Adams/99-02-02-6854. [This is an Early Access document from The Adams Papers. It is not an authoritative final version.]

"Deposited with the Boston Public Library in 1894, the John Adams Library includes over 2,700 volumes collected by the second president during his lifetime (1735-1826) as well as hundreds of additional books later donated by his family members. One of the greatest private collections of its day, the Adams Library remains one of the largest original early American libraries still intact. This remarkable collection of 3,510 books spans the fields of classics, literature, history, politics, government, philosophy, religion, law, science, mathematics, medicine, agriculture, language and linguistics, economics, and travel. "

"This resource guide compiles links to digital materials related to Adams such as manuscripts, letters, broadsides, government documents, and images that are available throughout the Library of Congress Web site. In addition, it provides links to external Web sites focusing on Adams and a bibliography containing selected works for both general and younger readers."

Digital collections available from the Massachusetts Historical Society including: Adams Papers Digital Edition; Thomas Jefferson Digital Collection; Coming of the American Revolution; and others.