"... is a web site designed for children ages birth through twelve, their parents, teachers or anyone interested in reading about children's books. Providing reader's advisory service, this site contains hundreds of recommended book reviews in a variety of reading levels and interest areas. Parents may find special "parental notes" attached to some reviews that provide additional information about the book. Users can search for books by author, title, reading level, interest area, number of pages, and even favorite illustrator." The site was developed by a group of children's librarians, specialists and web developers from an idea that came out of the the Public Library of Charlotte-Mecklenburg County's need to have a readers' advisory site for children. In addition to the above resources, the site also has a Listen to a Story feature and other fun activities for children.
"Carol Otis Hurst is a storyteller, teacher, children's book critic, and columnist for Teaching K-8 Magazine. " Harper Collins Publishers. Her website provides reviews, classroom ideas and activities and more.
Note: This site has a large amount of advertising.
"is an interdisciplinary center based in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at the University of Florida. Members of the Center include faculty and researchers from the University community; teachers, librarians, media specialists, and others working directly with children; and artists and writers creating works for children in print and other media."
"The purpose of this database is to create a tailored reading list of quality children's literature or to find out if a book has won one of the indexed awards. I expect the user to be a librarian or a teacher intervening for a child-reader, however anyone may make use of it to find the best in children's literature including parents, book store personnel, and children and young adults themselves."
Compiled & Indexed by Lisa R. Bartle, Librarian
"The ICDL Foundation's goal is to build a collection of books that represents outstanding historical and contemporary books from throughout the world. Ultimately, the Foundation aspires to have every culture and language represented so that every child can know and appreciate the riches of children's literature from the world community."
A commercial website from Scholastic Publishing that provides a variety of free resources directed at teachers, parents and librarians. Also provides information on purchasing materials and the Scholastic Book Fair program.
Located at the Graduate School of Library and Information Science University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, "the Center aims to inspire and inform adults who connect young people with resources in person, in print, and online."
"... is one of North America's leading research centers in the field of children's literature. Although the Collection has many strengths, the main focus is on American and British children's literature, historical and contemporary. Part of Special Collections, the de Grummond Collection is housed in the McCain Library and Archives on the campus of The University of Southern Mississippi." The site provides access to virtual exhibits as well as a variety of research sources as well as information on visiting and using the collection.