If you need to find out who won which award for what books, or if you have a book that you think should win an award this site from the American Library Association is an excellent place to start your search. The site provides descriptions of awards, criteria, applications and lists of winners (past and present for most awards.)
Watch C-Span's weekend Book TV online. Find out about book fairs and festivals. "Each weekend, Book TV features 48 hours of nonfiction books from 8am Saturday to 8am Monday. This web site will enhance information on those books, provide an opportunity to watch or listen to programs you might have missed, and provide additional information not available on the network."
"... is a web site designed for children ages birth through twelve, their parents, teachers or anyone interested in reading about children's books. Providing reader's advisory service, this site contains hundreds of recommended book reviews in a variety of reading levels and interest areas. Parents may find special "parental notes" attached to some reviews that provide additional information about the book. Users can search for books by author, title, reading level, interest area, number of pages, and even favorite illustrator." The site was developed by a group of children's librarians, specialists and web developers from an idea that came out of the the Public Library of Charlotte-Mecklenburg County's need to have a readers' advisory site for children. In addition to the above resources, the site also has a Listen to a Story feature and other fun activities for children.
"...from 1989 to 2004, C-SPAN CEO Brian Lamb interviewed contemporary non-fiction authors for one hour, discussing their books, their research, and their lives. The resulting archive of 800 interviews is a valuable collection of late twentieth century American scholarship, capturing the intellectual work of some of the country's best non-fiction writers, as well as the biographies and memoirs of notable contemporary political figures." Read transcripts, search by keyword, watch videos, and download audio.
This site is a good starting place to find out about books on the internet. The site provides links to Must See Sites, lists of books, and award winners. Users can also find information and books of specific genres and by specific authors. Access articles, reviews and answers to frequently asked book related questions. It also includes a Book Discussion Center for online book discussion groups and tips for starting a book club.
Google's book digitization project provides access to a vast online collection of books, many are completely full-text. Others are limited to a preview or publication information only.
To limit the search to only items with the full view, use the the Free Google ebooks link on the left side of the screen after completing a search or use the advanced search and select Full View
"... is an index to literary criticism on the internet, covering more than 250 English and American authors of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Our links lead directly to articles, not to another list of links, and all links are screened by a literary scholar and must meet minimum academic standards to be included in the index." The site has a search or users can use one of the subject specific indexes that are available.
An association founded to promote the study and teaching of language and literature. The website provides access to the MLA Language Map which can be used to learn about the linguistic and cultural composition of the U.S. It also provides a guide to doctoral programs in English and other languages, information on the MLA style, and other resources. Note: Some resources require a subscription for access. Access to the MLA International Bibliography Database is provided through the Literature Resource Center database.
"... an international award given yearly since 1901 for achievements in physics, chemistry, medicine, literature and for peace. In 1968, the Bank of Sweden instituted the Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, founder of the Nobel Prize." The site provides information on the selection process as well as winners, articles, and educational resources. Sections of the site are devoted to each prize category.
Designed to provide supplemental information for the understanding of literature. Includes literary analysis, literature profiles, metaphor analysis, themes, and author biographies. Search the site or browse the complete list or lists such as and New Additions and Most Popular. (Note - this site contains lots of advertising.)
"… is the largest of the 141 centers of International PEN, the world’s oldest human rights organization and the oldest international literary organization." Find out about the Center's programs and publciations. Note some items are for member's only.
offers resources for scholars, teachers, students, and performers to explore contemporary performance of medieval narrative. Our purpose is to see how medieval stories can be brought to life in performance for modern audiences, and how performance can be used to teach medieval literature in the classroom. We hope as well to promote a better understanding of ways in which medieval narratives may have been performed for their original audiences.
The main collection was designed to cover "the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. " It includes both primary and secondary resources. Click on the Collections link to access these resources and resources for other topics including Arabic language documents; materials for the study of the Germanic Peoples; primary and secondary sources in early modern English literature; Issues of the Richmond Times Dispatch; Sources on the history of the 19th-century United States and Duke Databank of Documentary Papyri.
This site provides literary summaries, booknotes, chapter summaries, study notes and other resources. Select information by author or title or search the sites. (Note - this site contains lots of advertising.)
The Pulitzer Prize is actually 21 different awards that cover journalism, fiction writing, history, biography, and non-ficition writing, poetry, drama, and music. The site provides background on the prizes, access to the full-text of some of the winners' works (including photographic award winning pictures), a timeline of the awards and more.