"...from 1989 to 2004, C-SPAN CEO Brian Lamb interviewed contemporary non-fiction authors for one hour, discussing their books, their research, and their lives. The resulting archive of 800 interviews is a valuable collection of late twentieth century American scholarship, capturing the intellectual work of some of the country's best non-fiction writers, as well as the biographies and memoirs of notable contemporary political figures." Read transcripts, search by keyword, watch videos, and download audio.
Subjects: English (Literature & Linguistics), Modern & Classical Languages & Literatures, Theater, History
Vendor: The Literary Dictionary Company Limited
Includes basic data on over 6986 people, covers over 31124 works, and lists 16492 historical and literary events. Additionally there are lists of important secondary readings, links to internet resources, as well as timelines and chronologies.
... combines the texts of over 355,000 literary works with a vast library of key criticism and reference resources. Includes full-text journals and author biographies, helps keep you up to date on the latest research into every aspect of literary and linguistic study.
"Bio-critical essays on the lives and works of more than 1,400 important authors from around the world. Entries include concise essays, citations, and biographical information that places the author's work in personal and historical context."
"Twayne's is devoted to literary critical interpretation and discussion. It offers in-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers of the world, including close analysis of key works. It provides insightful and original commentary on the history and influence of literary movements."