Skip to main content

Charles E. Vogan Collection: Collection

A LibGuide featuring the Charles E. Vogan Collection, located in the Blechmann Reading Room on the 2nd floor of the Paul and Rosemary Trible Library.

Welcome

This LibGuide features the collection of Dr. Charles E. Vogan, former Professor of Music and Department Chair at Old Dominion University, as well as teacher, organist, composer, author, choir director and conductor. The collection is located in the Blechmann Reading Room on the 2nd floor of the Paul and Rosemary Trible Library.

Dr. Charles E. Vogan

The Charles E. Vogan Collection was donated by the Vogan family in the Spring of 2013.

Dr. Vogan was Professor of Music and Chair of the Department at Old Dominion University where he served from 1950-1976. His career spanned five decades as a teacher, organist, composer, author, choir director and conductor, and included studies with renowned musicians of his generation.

The Collection consists of over 3200 individual music-related items that were acquired by Dr. Vogan over the course of his career. Included are books, scores, sheet music, journals and related artwork. Many are unique and of historic value. In addition to the The Collection's on-campus accessibility, an index of the individual holdings is available at CNU's online catalog, by entering the subject "Charles E. Vogan Music Collection."

References

2.19 G-3 The Charles E. Vogan Collection donated to CNU, 2013,” SAIL - Smart Archiving for Institutional Learning, accessed March 26, 2019,

https://sail.cnu.edu/omeka/items/show/11570.

Loading ...
Trible Library provides links to other websites to aid in research and is not responsible for the content or privacy policy of those sites.