Access crucial documents covering the lives of African Americans in the years following the Civil War.This collection covers many topical categories such as Reconstruction by state; works by African- American writers on race, slavery, and civil rights; the portrayal of African Americans in the Arts; early histories of the Civil War and slavery; and others. This archive contains varied perspectives on subjects including but not limited to:African-American Activism; Causes of the Civil War; Political Restoration of the South; Legal Status of African Americans; Congress and Radical Reconstruction; Discrimination and Segregation; Theorizing the Origins of Race; Minstrel Show Music, Scripts, etc.; Education in the South; African-Americans in Office; Back-to-Africa Movement; Suffrage/Right to Vote; Lynchings and Massacres; And on organizations such as: Baptist Church; Freedmen's Bureau; Ku Klux Klan;Presbyterian Church; The Confederacy; Republican Party
"This African American Experience in Ohio collection documents specific moments in the history of African Americans in Ohio in their own words, in particular focusing on their experiences from 1850 to 1920. It includes manuscript collections, photographs and pamphlets from the Ohio History Connection Archives & Libraries and its National Afro-American Museum & Cultural Center division in Wilberforce. This collection only scratches the surface of the African American experience in Ohio and serves as a place to begin inquiry into this diverse and complex history. "
"In honor of the Civil War and Reconstruction sesquicentennials the Alabama Department of Archives and History undertook a project to make all of its newspapers from that era available online. These issues have been digitized from microfilm. The quality varies greatly, depending on the condition of the original paper and the film; therefore, some portions of the text may be illegible or difficult to read."
"This exhibit examines one of the most turbulent and controversial eras in American history. It presents an up-to-date portrait of a period whose unrealized goals of economic and racial justice still confront our society."
"... consists of letters, affidavits, reports and a newspaper clipping relating to a violent episode in Camilla, Georgia. The incident occurred on September 19, 1868 when freedmen, together with Republicans W.P. Pierce, John Murphy and F.F. Putney attempted to hold a political rally, and were met with opposition from the white townspeople of Camilla. "
Digital Library of Georgia
This website explores different aspects of U.S. History from approximately 1857-1912. It includes political cartoons, lesson plans, excerpts from Harper's Weekly, biographies, bibliographies, reference lists, and more. [For access to the Harper's Weekly subscription database go to the A-Z list of databases.]
"... created by the Kansas State Historical Society to share its historical collections via the Internet. It supports the mission of the Society--to identify, collect, preserve, interpret, and disseminate materials and information pertaining to Kansas history in order to assist the public in understanding, appreciating, and caring for the heritage of Kansas. "
"... gives a panoramic and eclectic review of African American history and culture from the early 19th through the early 20th centuries, with the bulk of the material published between 1875 and 1900. Among the authors represented are Frederick Douglass, Booker T. Washington, Ida B. Wells-Barnett, Benjamin W. Arnett, Alexander Crummel, and Emanuel Love."
This assortment of pamphlets was collected by the Department of State Library and comprises speeches, debates, political statements, legislative bills, and more. These pamphlets range in date from 1865 to 1869 and 1877. There are no materials pertaining to the 1870-1876 period.
" Georgians wishing to vote for delegates to the 1867 state constitutional convention were required to swear that they had not been disenfranchised for participating in the Civil War against the United States government before they could register to vote. "1867Georgia's Virtual Vault
Book Sources: Reconstruction - General
A selection of books/e-books available in Trible Library.
Click the title for location and availability information.
Each of the eight chronological chapters contains a survey essay, an annotated bibliography, and 20 to 30 related public and private primary source documents, including manifestos, speeches, court cases, letters, memoirs, and much more.
on "The treatment to be extended to the rebels individually," and "The mode of restoring the rebel states to the union." With an appendix containing a reprint of a review of Judge Curtis' paper on the Emancipation proclamation, with a letter from President Lincoln.
Presents varying opinions about the history of reconstruction in the United States. After the Civil War, the federal and state governments focused on reintegrating the South into the Union and giving the freed slaves economic and political opportunities.