This collection includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information, so providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, the series provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines. In selected cases, users will be able to hear the actual audio voices of the immigrants. The collection will be particularly useful to researchers, because much of the original material is difficult to find, poorly indexed, and unpublished; most bibliographies of the immigrant focus on secondary research; and few oral histories have been published.
"The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America."
" Annotation: In 1923, the Supreme Court ruled that Asian Indians were ineligible for citizenship, even though they were considered “Caucasians.”
Bhagat Singh Thind (1892-1967), who was born in Punjab, migrated to the United States in 1913. He attended University of California at Berkeley, and eventually earned a Ph.D. He also served in the U.S. Army during World War I and applied for U.S. citizenship in 1920. Despite a Civil War era law that allowed aliens who had served in the U.S. military to become naturalized citizens, he was turned down. "
In the spring of 1882, the Chinese Exclusion Act was passed by Congress and signed by President Chester A. Arthur. This act provided an absolute 10-year ban on Chinese laborers immigrating to the United States. For the first time, federal law proscribed entry of an ethnic working group on the premise that it endangered the good order of certain localities.
"The Court affirmed the denial of entry because the government of the United States, as a part of the sovereign powers delegated by the Constitution, had the right to exclude Chinese laborers. The United States Supreme Court reviewed the general character of the treaties and the legislation of Congress to carry them into existence. The Court examined the limitation to immigration of certain classes from China and the necessity to preserve civilization. The Court held that treaties were of no greater legal obligation than the act of Congress. "
"The project is one of the world’s largest and most diverse chronicles of the immigrant experience. It includes nearly 2,000 interviews from passengers, families, immigration officials, military personnel, detainees, and former island employees. The recordings are filled with tales of joy, sorrow, and hope, and cumulatively, they paint an expansive and complex picture of our ancestry and culture.
Available to researchers, students, educators, and the general public, the Oral History Project is a unique national totem, and an incredible resource for anyone interested in connecting with the voices that built America."
"Our clients come to the U.S. from every region of the world seeking safe haven from persecution based on their sexual orientation, gender identity, and/or HIV-status. The road to asylum can take years, and some are detained in dangerous conditions as they pursue their claims. Here are a few of their stories. "
"The Immigration History Research Center Archives (IHRCA, or IHRC Archives) is a renowned archives and library for the study of immigration, ethnicity, and race. We select sources documenting a broad range of immigrant and refugee experiences, and strive to connect history to today’s experiences. We work closely with our colleagues in the Immigration History Research Center, and we are part of the Migration and Social Services Collections in Archives & Special Collections (ASC) in the University of Minnesota Libraries."
Each week of the syllabus lists primary, secondary and mutimedia resources regarding an immigration topic. Some materials are freely accessible online while others are books or magazine articles that may be accessible within the Trible Library or through Interlibrary Loan.
"This digital collection of historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the start of the Great Depression." Most materials cover the 19th century.
"This film tells the story of refugees entering West Berlin to escape Soviet-controlled East Germany. It describes the immigration process followed by asylum-seekers and depicts life in the refugee camps of West Berlin. We hear several refugees tell why they chose to leave the Soviet zone." U.S. National Archives YouTube
"This project is coordinated by the Midpeninsula Community Media Center, located in Palo Alto, CA. It is made possible with support from the Silicon Valley Community Foundation and its initiative on Immigrant Integration."
"This initiative has gathered and digitized oral histories from organizations across the state. These existing materials have been coupled with newly created stories that best document the rich tradition of immigration to this state. This project weaves together these audio and video histories into a single space where these stories can be gathered, saved, and shared in an openly and freely accessible manner."
"This web-site is comprised of original oral history interviews carried out by students of Dr. McCleary’s Hist 150 and Unst 390 course, spring 2016, 2017, 2019 and 2020 as part of James Madison University’s general education program. All of the interviews are available in MP3 form and transcriptions. The general theme of the interviews are about social change in the 20th and 21st centuries as depicted through themes such as the Cold War, gender, immigration, education, and the workplace. In spring 2020, they interviewed people about the most recent social change that we have experienced, the Coronoa virus. After the interviews were posted, students analyzed them to discern patterns of change in themes of their choosing."
"A short documentary following the story of Norma Ureiro, a transgender immigrant who faced enormous struggles in her life, especially when trying to flee Mexico for the United States. Featuring Norma and two lawyers at Immigration Equality (http://www.immigrationequality.org/ ), a pro bono group that protects LGBTQ immigrants in court. "
"... is a compendium of tables that provides data on foreign nationals who, during a fiscal year, were granted lawful permanent residence (i.e., admitted as immigrants or became legal permanent residents), were admitted into the United States on a temporary basis (e.g., tourists, students, or workers), applied for asylum or refugee status, or were naturalized. The Yearbook also presents data on immigration enforcement actions, including alien apprehensions, removals, and returns."
"During congressional debate over the 1924 Act, Senator Ellison DuRant Smith of South Carolina drew on the racist theories of Madison Grant to argue that immigration restriction was the only way to preserve existing American resources. Although blatant racists like Smith were in the minority in the Senate, almost all senators supported restriction, and the Johnson-Reed bill passed with only six dissenting votes. " GMU - History Matters
"For example, on April 8, 1924, Robert H. Clancy, a Republican congressman from Detroit with a large immigrant constituency, defended the “Americanism” of Jewish, Italian, and Polish immigrants and attacked the quota provisions of the bill as racially discriminatory and “un-American.” " - GMU - History Matters
Primary source materials may contain language or images that are considered to be offensive in today's world.
These materials are a reflection of the language and culture of the time period in which they were written.
Book Sources: Immigration
A selection of books/e-books available in Trible Library.
Click the title for location and availability information.
The Chinese Exclusion Act and Angel Island will introduce students to a broader and more inclusive vision of U.S. immigration history and, ultimately, a better understanding of the world we live in. What is uniquely important about this book are the personal stories and viewpoints of proponents and opponents of the Chinese exclusion laws.
"Provides excerpts from nearly two dozen original documents, including legislation, letters, essays, and other materials related to the sanctioning of discrimination against the Chinese in the United States."
Each of the eight chronological chapters contains a survey essay, an annotated bibliography, and 20 to 30 related public and private primary source documents, including manifestos, speeches, court cases, letters, memoirs, and much more.
“... draws together significant U.S. and international primary source documents—including excerpts from newspaper articles, speeches, relevant treaties and other legal documents, and scientific reports.”