Primary Sources: Germany: General

"The aim of the German Digital Library (DDB) is to give everyone free access to the cultural and scientific heritage of Germany via the Internet, i.e. to millions of books, archives, pictures, sculptures, pieces of music and other audio documents, films and sheet music. As the central national portal, the DDB is intended to network the digital offers of all German cultural and scientific institutions with one another. With the DDB, Germany should secure its connectivity and competitiveness in science, research and education, but also make its unique cultural heritage and knowledge easily accessible to everyone via a central point of contact. Due to the central accessibility,

There is still a long way to go before this vision is fully realized. The digitization of the German cultural and scientific heritage is a process that will take years." Translation via Google Translate

A collection of documents from Brigham Young University related to Germany from various time periods.

The German Historical Institute (GHI) was established in April 1987 as an independent non-profit foundation. The GHI is funded by the government of the Federal Republic of Germany but also seeks grants and accepts support for individual projects from other German sources.The GHI is an independent institute dedicated to the promotion of historical research in the United States and the Federal Republic of Germany and to the dissemination of historical knowledge." Use the site to find out about resources available in the Institute's Library, access Reference Guides on specific topics, find out about publications produced by the Institute and view selected issues online, search the directory of German Studies Scholars, and view selected documents and images online. In addition the site also provides information on programs, fellowships, events etc. of interest to German Studies Scholars.

"...a comprehensive collection of primary source materials documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present. It comprises original German texts, all of which are accompanied by new English translations, and a wide range of visual imagery. The materials are presented in ten sections, which have been compiled by leading scholars. All of the materials can be downloaded free of charge for teaching, research, and related purposes; the site is strictly intended for individual, non-commercial use."

"The project uses digital media to bring together diverse historical sources in thought-provoking new ways. In terms of basic framework, the project is divided into three modules (migration, knowledge and education, and Germanness), each of which begins with an essay-length introduction to the given topic. Furthermore, each module includes approximately 100 primary-source documents in their original language (typically German) and in English translation, approximately 100 high-resolution images, and a small selection of audiovisual materials. All individual sources are accompanied by brief introductory texts and are tagged with keywords that highlight connections between modules. "

A selection of documents complied by Dr. Richard Weikart, Department of History, California State University, Stanislaus "for use in courses on modern German history (mainly nineteenth and twentieth century)."

"This set of topographic maps of pre World War II Germany, originally printed by the German government, were confiscated by the British and U.S. military after the war. Most of these maps are reprints by the British Geographical Section, General Staff, or the U.S. Army Map Service. The set includes multiple editions printed in multiple years, by several corporate authors, and covers most of 1930’s Germany [including parts of what is now Poland], but some maps are missing."

This site is from Randall Bytwerk, a Professor of Communication Arts and Sciences at Calvin College in Grand Rapids, Michigan (USA). The archive contains "a growing collection of English translations of propaganda material from Nazi Germany and the German Democratic Republic."

"Href is dedicated to the use of digitized primary source materials for studying, teaching, and researching German and global history. Our blog reports on the DFG-funded relaunch of the GHI Washington DC’s flagship digital project German History in Documents and Images (GHDI). It will also introduce the institute’s other digital publication initiatives, such as the new German History Intersections project. "

"... handles the digitization and online publication of the cultural heritage preserved by the Bavarian State Library and by other institutions. It provides one of the largest and fastest growing digital collections in Germany, now comprising 777,490 titles available online. Access is free of charge!"

An independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. The Archive also serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States. Some of these items are accessible online for free.

"The Sophie Digital Library is an open-access, full-text-searchable source of literature written by German-speaking women from medieval times through the early 20th century. The collection covers a broad spectrum of genres and is designed to showcase literary works that have been neglected for too long. These works are made available both in facsimiles of their original format, wherever possible, as well as in a PDF transcription that promotes ease of reading and is amenable to keyword searching."

"The Digital Archive contains once-secret documents from governments all across the globe, uncovering new sources and providing fresh insights into the history of international relations and diplomacy. "