LibGuides: Primary Sources: Slavery & Abolition: Colonization

Online Sources: Colinization

African Americans Colonization in HathiTrust
African Americans -- Colonization Africa in the Internet Archive
The African Repository
more...less...
vols. 1-68
Colonization. By Rev. O. B. Frothingham.
more...less...
From the Library of Congress From Slavery to Freedom collection
A few facts respecting the American Colonization Society and the colony at Liberia for gratuitous distribution
American Colonization Society.
African American Pamphlet Collection (Library of Congress
An inquiry into the merits of the American Colonization Society
more...less...
and a reply to the charges brought against it. With an account of the British African Colonization Society. By Thomas Hodgkin ...
Library of Congress From Slavery to Freedom collection
Liberian Letters
Reflections on the causes that led to the formation of the colonization society
more...less...
From the Library of Congress From Slavery to Freedom collection
Works by The American Colonization Society in HathiTrust
Works by The American Colonization Society in the Internet Archive
Works by the New-York state Colonization Society in Internet Archive

Book Sources: Colonization

A selection of books/e-books available in Trible Library.
Click the title for location and availability information.

Off campus access instructions (for e-books)

Thoughts on African Colonization (ebook) by William Lloyd Garrison
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Thoughts on African Colonization (print) by William Lloyd Garrison
Call Number: E448.G242 T5
The Mind of the Negro as reflected in Letters written during the Crisis, 1800-1860 by Carter G. Woodson
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Includes letters from Frederick Douglass.
A few facts respecting the American colonization society, and the colony at Liberia by American Colonization Society
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
A sermon delivered at Springfield, Mass. (July 4, 1827) by Samuel Osgood
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
before the Colonization Society of Hampden County, July 4, 1827
Condition of the American colored population, and of the colony at Liberia by American Colonization Society
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Dear Master: Letters of a Slave Family by Randall M. Miller (Editor)
Call Number: E444 .D42 1990
ISBN: 0820312304
Examination of Mr. Thomas C. Brown by American Anti-Slavery Society.
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
a free colored citizen of S. Carolina, as to the actual state of things in Liberia in the years 1833 and 1834, at the Chatham Street Chapel, May 9th & 10th, 1834.
Information about going to Liberia by American Colonization Society
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Liberia
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Vols. 1-34
The African Repository (Vols. 1-4; 7-20; 27-68)
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
The African Repository (Vols. 4-6; 9)
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust

Search for More

Suggested terms to look for include - diary, diaries, letters, papers, documents, documentary or correspondence.

Combine these these terms with the event or person you are researching. (example: civil war diary)

Also search by subject for specific people and events, then scan the titles for those keywords or others such as memoirs, autobiography, report, or personal narratives.

An additional option is to do a search on a topic and use the "Resource Type" limiter on the left side of the results and choose the option "Primary Sources" - please note this is extremely limiting as most primary source materials are not marked in records with this resource type and you will miss seeing a large number of useful items.