Throughout the 19th century, pamphlets were an important means of public debate, covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of their day. 19th Century British Pamphlets, created by Research Libraries UK (RLUK), contains the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in research libraries in the United Kingdom.
The digitization of more than 26,000 pamphlets from collections in seven universities in the UK spanning more than one million pages brings together a corpus of primary sources for the study of sociopolitical and economic factors impacting 19th-century Britain.
"In 1909 the Trade Board Act introduced legally enforceable minimum wages for the first time. Trade Boards were established to regulate wages in specific 'sweated' trades - industries with long working hours, poor working conditions and low pay, many of which relied on women workers.
Most of the documents in this online collection are from the archives of the Trades Union Congress, and were collected by some of the workers' representatives on the Trade Boards. They include information about working conditions and wages in some of the sweatshop industries of the early 20th century."
The Bodleian Library has unparalleled holdings of over 30,000 ballads in several major collections. The original printed materials range from the 16th- to the 20th-Century. The Broadside Ballads project makes the digitised copies of the sheets and ballads available to the research community.Description from Bodleian Library, University of Oxford
This digital library for British historical resources was created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust. It provides "text and information about people, places and businesses from the medieval and early modern period." Users are encouraged to register with the site (for free) in order to use the available advanced features. A full-text search feature is available or the collections can be browsed. Some materials are available only to subscribers [CNU does not subscribe.]
"Richard Crossman, a Coventry Member of Parliament between 1945-1974 and Cabinet Minister between 1964-1970, was a regular broadcaster from the 1930s onwards.
More than 300 transcripts of Crossman's radio broadcasts have been digitised, including his early BBC programmes on Nazi Germany during the 1930s, his 'International Commentary' programmes for the BBC Hebrew Service, and a selection of other broadcasts on British politics up to the 1960s."
The Booth collection at LSE Archives contains the original records from Booth's survey into life and labour in London, dating from 1886 to 1903. The archives of the Senate House Library contain Booth family papers from 1799 to 1967.Description from siteSome items are available in digital format.
"The University of Michigan Library provides access to these keyboarded and encoded editions of the works for educational and research purposes. These transcriptions are believed to be in the public domain in the United States; however, if you decide to use any of these transcriptions, you are responsible for making your own legal assessment and securing any necessary permission. If you have questions about the collection, please contact the Early English Books Online Text Creation Partnership. If you have concerns about the inclusion of an item in this collection, please contact Library Information Technology."
Voyages, travels, expeditions, remarkable exploits, and atchievements [sic], of the most celebrated English navigators, travellers, and sea-commanders, from the earliest accounts to the end of the year 1759 ... : with a description ... of the several nations they visited, conquered, or had dealings with : including the lives of the most eminent British admirals and seamen, who have distinguished themselves by their bravery and love of liberty ..
This site from Historical Naval Fiction provides links to various volumes of the Naval Chronicle available online for free "thanks to google and the Internet Archive."
"Read more than 450 documents relating to the 1926 General Strike, including strike bulletins, transcripts of radio broadcasts and internal reports produced by the strike co-ordinator, the Trades Union Congress."
"The National Archives of England, Wales and the United Kingdom has one of the largest archival collections in the world, spanning 1000 years of British history, from Domesday Book of 1086 to government papers recently released to the public." Some documents are available online. Searching the collections online is free, but some documents require a fee for access.