PHIL 315 - Hutchinson - Spring 2024: Databases, Journals, and Other Guides

Searches a variety of databases covering a wide range of topics. It provides access to full-text/image of many journals, as well as other data.

Subscriber: VIVA/CNUProvides access to databases covering a variety of topics. Provides access to full-text for some items.

Subscriber: CNUAn online database of full-content articles from various journals in many subject areas including, but not limited to African American studies, Ecology, Economics, History, Literature and Mathematics. Many journals start with the first volume and issue; there is usually a delay of several years for accessing current issues.

Subscriber: CNUBased on the multi-volume reference work, this online Encyclopedia is full text and covers most philosophical areas of study including Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy

A core resource providing the most comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. FSSW is an anthology of 4 database files providing access to more than 1.3 million records. Coverage spans from 1970 to the present.

Subscriber: CNU"This unique collection of materials provides a platform to research the progression of women’s roles and rights in society over the past 200 years."

Archival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests. Includes the pre-eminent US and UK titles – The Advocate and Gay Times, respectively. Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. In addition to LGBT/gender/sexuality studies, this material also serves related disciplines such as sociology, political science, psychology, health, and the arts. Some publications may contain explicit content.

With material drawn from hundreds of institutions and organizations, including both major international activist organizations and local, grassroots groups, the documents in this collection present important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond. The archive illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, among others. The archive includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more.

Subscriber: CNUProduced by the Philosopher’s Information Center, this current and comprehensive bibliographic database covers scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. Considered the most thorough index of journal literature on the subject, this resource features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews.

Subscriber: VIVACovering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy, this database offers nearly 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the database. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975 for some titles.

Subjects: Government and Public Affairs, History, Leadership, Sociology and Anthropology, Women and Gender StudiesVendor: EBSCOSubscriber: VIVACovers the core disciplines and latest scholarlship in Women’s Studies and in feminist research. With coverage spanning from 1972, and sometimes earlier, to present this database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites and Web documents, and grey literature. The full-text is provided for many of the items.