"In this letter to William Archer, dated 24 November 1898, Thomas Hardy makes remarks about the chances of him writing another novel: 'As to a novel from me, I don’t incline to one’, especially since ‘the little sound of just opinion… is swamped by the flood of ignorant and venal opinion’. He concludes on a note of quiet satisfaction by announcing the imminent publication of ‘my volume of verses’. "
"This section of the website contains the full text of all of Hardy’s four books of Short Stories, with the tales of ‘A Few Crusted Characters’ presented as a single continuous narrative. An additional fifth folder contains Hardy’s Uncollected and Collaborative Stories."
"The Thomas Hardy collection contains manuscript works and correspondence by Hardy as well as Hardy-related materials created by others. The Works series contains manuscripts mainly of poetry, but also includes some of Hardy's stories, an article on Stonehenge, a paper on church restoration, a dramatic version of Tess of the d'Urbervilles, a play synopsis for Jude the Obscure, an epilogue to The Dynasts, and a few other pieces. In addition to literary works, there are also 20 architectural drawings by Hardy for the restoration of St. Juliot's Church, Cornwall, dating from 1867 to 1870.
The Correspondence series consists mainly of letters written by Hardy to multiple recipients."
"a collaborative project between Dorset Museum and the University of Exeter whose long-term aim is to make available to the public over 5000 letters housed at Dorset Museum. Writers, artists, scientists, charities, political organisations, friends and fans wrote to Hardy from all round the world, including Chile, China, Egypt, India, Japan, Nigeria and Syria. Read and search the full text of 100 of these letters in this first release!"
Book Sources: Thomas Hardy
A selection of books/e-books available in Trible Library.
Click the title for location and availability information.