HIST 341: The Long Civil Rights Movement: Local/Virginia

"The collection entries that make up this guide reveal the broad range and scope of materials that touch on many aspects of African American life in Virginia and in the United States over the past four centuries.

This online guide was originally issued in published form. Compiled and adapted by F. Holly Hodges. Through support from a grant by The National Endowment for the Humanities, an independent federal agency. A reviewed and enlarged second edition was prepared by Harold M. Marsh, Jr., and E. Lee Shepard with support from grants by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities and Public Policy as part of its African-American Heritage program. "

"This new project employs the methods of local and comparative history, as it seeks to place the Brown decision in "a proper sense of perspective."" A project of Norfolk State University

"Rich in Virginia and Hampton history, these book & non-book materials are very useful for local history and genealogical research. "

"...aims to document the impact of the civil rights movement on area residents. This service-learning project was established in the fall of 2012 by CNU history professor Dr. Laura Puaca, in conjunction with two community organizations, the Newsome House Museum and Cultural Center and the Downing-Gross Cultural Arts Center. Most of the interviews were carried out by students enrolled in Dr. Puaca’s History 341 class, “The Long Civil Rights Movement.” Students worked in pairs to prepare, conduct, and transcribe an interview with a member of the local community.

This collection contains both the original audio files as well as the interview transcripts, which have been reviewed and edited by the students and HROHP staff. Transcripts were also sent to each interviewee for review. The transcripts seek to remain faithful to the original content of each interview while assisting readability (eliminating false starts and filler words such as "uh," providing additional clarifying information when necessary, etc.).

These interviews are part of an on-going and permanent collection that will grow over time."

"... is a unique institution and a national treasure. Founded in 1868, the Museum is the oldest African American museum in the United States and one of the oldest museums in the state of Virginia. The collections feature over 9,000 objects including African American fine arts, traditional African, Native American, Native Hawaiian, Pacific Island, and Asian art; and objects relating to the history of the University."

"The Peabody Collection is a Collection of books and other materials in all subject areas regarding the African Diaspora. The collection includes literature/ by about African Americans, and those of African descent with emphasis placed on historical events and experiences. With materials individualizing African American history from Slavery to the Presidential Election of 2008, the collection shows its distinctiveness. African American history matters because it provides our identities, our structures and our relationships.” These are invaluable resources of which Harvey Library is dedicated to conserving for future generations of researches."

Opened in April 1997, the Library collects, at a single location, various informational resources on the culture and history of colonial British America, the American Revolution, and the early United States. It includes collections of books, journals, manuscripts, visual resources, and online services. The Library is available for "scholars, advanced students, the Foundation's staff, and the public." The site provides information on accessing the variety of sources available as well as links to internet sites. Please note that some of the sites are subscription databases and restricted. Also provides access to a digitized version of the Virginia Gazette newspaper.

The LVA is located in Richmond. It contains a vast array of materials that would be useful in the study of Virginia History, among other things. The website provides information about a number of the collections available in the Library. Some of these collections are available online, but be aware that not all of the collections are indexed or made available online. It is possible to contact the Library to see if they would have information of use before making plans to visit.

This website from the Library of Virginia provides a list of local Virginia Historical Societies. Contact information including a website and email are provided if available. Historical societies can often provide access to unique primary source documents.

"By examining documents and visual materials, and enhancing these with oral interviews of surviving original residents and their relatives, we hope to expand the discussion of the origins of federal housing and to preserve the collective memories of an important chapter in Hampton Roads history. " A project from Norfolk State University

"The Martha Woodroof Hiden Memorial Virginiana Room at the Main Street Library contains over 4300 individual volumes specializing in Virginia genealogy and local history."

"...honors the legacy of Joseph Thomas Newsome by engaging the public in an ongoing study and remembrance of African American history and culture."

"The collection, which is non-circulating, includes a variety of books and periodicals about Norfolk and Virginia, as well as Norfolk maps and photographs, high school yearbooks, and city directories for the Hampton Roads region. Nearly 200 years of Norfolk newspaper microfilms are available upon request."

"The Harrison B. Wilson Archives is a rich source of primary documents for students, local historians and other researchers. The NSU Archives and African Art Gallery are located on the 2nd floor of the Lyman Beecher Brooks Library."

Local History available in the Portsmouth Public Library Collection.

"... is an archive about the racial segregation laws, or the 'Jim Crow' laws from the late 1880s until the mid-twentieth century. The focus of the collection is the town of Charlottesville in Virginia. The Jim Crow laws segregated African-Americans from white Americans in public places such as schools, and school buses. The archive contains photos, letters, two regional censuses and a flash map of the town of Charlottesville. The Jim Crow laws were not overturned until the important Brown versus Board of Education court ruling in 1954 (but not totally eliminated until the Civil Rights Act of the 1964). "

"This is a guide to manuscripts, books, periodicals, and other materials in the Special Collections Research Center that may be useful for researching or teaching about people of color in the United States from the colonial period to the present." Special Collections Research Center at the College of William & Mary

The Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) at "Swem Library connects students, faculty, and researchers with rare and unique materials, including:
original manuscripts, photographs, rare books, maps
audiovisual media, and more"

A list of holdings of Virginia African American Newspapers at the Library of Virginia.

"Connecting people to America's past through the unparalleled story of Virginia. By collecting, preserving, and interpreting the Commonwealth's history, we link past with present and inspire future generations."

"Virginia Memory is part of the online presence of the Library of Virginia, the state archives and reference library at the seat of government for the Commonwealth of Virginia. Established in 1823, the Library maintains vast and varied collections of print materials, manuscripts, archival records, newspapers, photographs and ephemera, maps and atlases, rare books, and fine art that tell the history of the commonwealth and its people. Since the mid-1990s, the Library has digitized parts of the collections in an effort to make our materials more widely available to our online users."

"A Bibliography of American Newspapers cataloged and inventoried by the Virginia Newspaper Project. " Aids in locating which libraries in Virginia may have newspapers of interest. Please check with the individual library to confirm holdings and access information."

"... This collection contains books, maps, photographs, DVDs and microfilm on the history of Virginia and York County. A variety of genealogy resources are also available. With over 1,600 items in the collection, most are non-circulating. "