LibGuides: HIST 300W: Books & Articles

►Databases

Some helpful databases:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
America: History & Life (with Full-Text) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles, article abstracts and bibliographic citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present.
Historical Abstracts (with Full-Text) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles, article abstracts and bibliographical citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world, except the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Tutorial
An online database of full-content articles from various journals in many subject areas including, but not limited to African American studies, Ecology, Economics, History, Literature and Mathematics. Many journals start with the first volume and issue; current issues are usually not available due to an embargo period. Also includes access to primary source materials and images.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 520 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals), many of which are unique to the product. PSC has a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. The database also features over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 36,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
ProQuest History Databases This link opens in a new window
Search multiple history related databases that include: dissertations, newspapers, primary sources, and more.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. Provides access to the full-text/full-image of articles.

All other databases found here:

A to Z Database List
A list of every database available at CNU.

►More Ways to Search

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
WorldCat Discovery
Help w/ Off-Campus Access
Take advantage of other libraries' collections by using the statewide Cooperative Borrowing Program, which allows you to visit and borrow materials from other academic libraries around Virginia. Call ahead to verify any restrictions or requirements.

►Helpful Information (click the tabs)

How do you find scholarly monographs*? Here are some things to look for:

Does the author have an advanced degree (for example, a Ph.D. or Ed.D.), and/or are they associated with an academic institution?

How do you find scholarly monographs*? Here are some things to look for:

Is the book published by a university press, scholarly society, or other scholarly organization?

Oxford University Press
Oxford University Press (OUP) is a department of the University of Oxford. It furthers the University's objective of excellence in research, scholarship, and education by publishing worldwide.

History
Oxford University Press has a rich history which can be traced back to the earliest days of printing. The first book was printed in Oxford in 1478, just two years after Caxton set up the first printing press in England. The University was involved with several printers in Oxford over the next century.

From the late 1800s OUP began to expand significantly, opening the first overseas office in New York in 1896. Other international branches followed, including Canada (1904), Australia (1908), India (1912), and Southern Africa (1914).

Today, the Press is a global organization with more than 6,000 employees in 53 countries.

How do you find scholarly monographs*? Here are some things to look for:

Does the book include a bibliography at the end citing all of the sources (other books, journal articles, original documents, etc.) that the author used in their research?

A screenshot of some of the works cited in Pedersen's book

What is a scholarly monograph?*

Scholarly monographs are single-volume works (books) providing in-depth research into a specialized area of knowledge. They contribute to the ongoing scholarship in a particular discipline by offering original insight into their subjects. Unlike popular or trade books, which are geared toward general readers, they are written by faculty or other scholars in a field for an academic audience. Although scholarly monographs are self-contained (they can stand on their own), they may be part of a series of books covering a wider subject area.

*Courtesy Booth Library, Eastern Illinois University