Getting Started Guide: Plays & Acting: Internet Sources

"... provides an organization and public voice for theatre scholars and promotes the cause of theatre as a field for serious scholarly study and research." Includes information on Ph.D. programs, awards, prizes and grants, and links to additional internet resources.

The Tony Awards honor achievements on the stage. On the website users can locate past winners, find a history of the award, read acceptance speeches, play games, etc.

"Didaskalia is an English-language publication about Greek and Roman drama, dance, and music as they are performed today. The name Didaskalia is taken from the inscriptions used to record the outcomes of drama and music festivals in Athens. The need for records of productions is greater today than it was in Athens, because there is more Greek and Roman drama performed in more parts of the world than there ever was in antiquity." Full-text access is provided for most of the articles. Some issues include book and theater reviews. The journal can be searched or browsed. In addition a Study Area is available providing an overview of ancient theater, a dictionary, and links to other sites. Online discussion groups are available in the Agora area.

"... provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today. Details include pertinent people involved as well as interesting facts and production statistics." The database includes links to the show website when available. These sites sometimes provide links to reviews.

"... provides a catalogue of shows produced Off-Broadway." The site's database includes links to the show website when available. These sites often provide reviews.

"This online presentation includes items selected from the Federal Theatre Project Collection at the Library of Congress. Featured here are stage and costume designs, photographs, posters, playbills, programs, and playscripts, including productions of Macbeth and The Tragical History of Dr. Faustus as staged by Orson Welles, and Power, a topical drama of the period. Selected administrative documents from the project are also available."

Access theater reviews from the NYT. Free registration is required for access to certain items.

Provided by the Library of Congress, users can "search and browse descriptions of more than 235 music, theater and dance resources by subject, title, or name. " Browsing features are also provided.

Find a variety of playbills for Broadway shows, includes links to articles, photos and other materials.

Reviews of the theater from National Public Radio.

"...ten plays written by Hurston (1891-1960), author, anthropologist, and folklorist. Deposited as unpublished typescripts in the United States Copyright Office between 1925 and 1944, most of the plays remained unpublished and unproduced until a manuscript curator rediscovered them in the Copyright Deposit Drama Collection in 1997. The plays reflect Hurston's life experience, travels, and research, especially her knowledge of folklore in the African-American South. "