Skip to Main Content

Getting Started Guide: Political Science: Reference Sources

places to start researching government related topics

Checks and Balances: The Three Branches of the American Government by Daniel E. Brannen, Jr. & Lawrence W. Baker
Call Number: JK271 .B6496 2005
ISBN: 0787654094
v. 1. Executive branch -- v. 2. Legislative branch -- v. 3. Judicial branch
Constitutional Amendments by Mark Grossman (General Editor)
Call Number: KF4557 .G76 2012
ISBN: 1592379990
Encyclopedia of the American Presidency by Michael A. Genovese
Call Number: JK511 .G45 2010
ISBN: 081607366X
Guide to U.S. Elections
Call Number: JK1967 .C662 2010
ISBN: 1604265361
Modern African Conflicts: An Encyclopedia of Civil Wars, Revolutions, and Terrorism by Timothy J. Stapleton (Editor)
Call Number: DT21.5 .M63 2022
ISBN: 9781440869693
Publication Date: 2022-06-30
Encyclopedia of Human Rights by David P. Forsythe
Call Number: JC571 .E673 2009
ISBN: 9780195334029
A History of the U.S. Political System by Richard A. Harris and Daniel J. Tichenor
Call Number: JK31 .H57 2010
ISBN: 1851097139

Battleground: Government and Politics by Kathleen Ann Uradnik et al.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Ebook Central
ISBN: 9780313343148
Encyclopedia of the United States Cabinet by Mark Grossman
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781592375622
The New York Times on Critical Elections, 1854-2008 by Gerald M. Pomper (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Ebook Central
ISBN: 0872899594
The Oxford Guide to the United States Government by John J. Patrick; Richard M. Pious; Donald A. Ritchie
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Oxford Reference
ISBN: 9780195142730
Publication Date: 2001-07-04

CIA World FactBook
Call Number: Online - free - CIA
Dynasties of the World by John E. Morby and Charlie Rozier
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Oxford Reference
ISBN: 9780191780073
Encyclopedia of Stateless Nations by James B. Minahan
Call Number: Online - Ebook Central
ISBN: 1610699548
Publication Date: 2016-06-01
: Ethnic and National Groups Around the World
Guide to Countries of the World by Christopher Riches and Peter Stalker
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Oxford Reference
ISBN: 9780191803000
The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World by Joel Krieger (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Oxford Reference
ISBN: 9780195117394

Analyzing Political Speeches by Christina Schäffner
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - EBSCO
ISBN: 9781853594014
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics and International Relations by Garrett W. Brown; Iain McLean; Alistair McMillan
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Oxford Reference
ISBN: 9780199670840
Encyclopedia of Political Communication by Lynda Lee Kaid (Editor); Christina Holtz-Bacha (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - GVRL
ISBN: 9781412917995
Encyclopedia of Political Theory by Mark Bevir (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - GVRL
ISBN: 9781412958653
Publication Date: 2010-03-18
Political and Civic Leadership by Richard A. Couto (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - GVRL
ISBN: 9781412962636

A Dictionary of Law by Jonathan Law (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Oxford Reference
ISBN: 9780198802525
Publication Date: 2018-08-21
Encyclopedia of American Law and Criminal Justice by David Schultz
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Ebook Central
ISBN: 9780816081455
Gale Encyclopedia of American Law (4th Edition) by Donna Batten
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - GVRL
ISBN: 9781414443027
The New Oxford Companion to Law by Peter Cane (Editor); Joanne Conaghan (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Oxford Reference
ISBN: 9780199290543
The Oxford Companion to American Law by Kermit L. Hall (Editor); Joel B. Grossman (Editor); James W. Ely (Editor); N. E. H. Hull (Editor); David S. Clark (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Oxford Reference
ISBN: 9780195088786
The Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States by Kermit L. Hall (Editor) et al.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Oxford Reference
ISBN: 9780195176612

A Dictionary of Law Enforcement by Graham Gooch; Michael Williams
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Oxford Reference
ISBN: 9780191758256
Encyclopedia of American Law and Criminal Justice by David Schultz
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Ebook Central
ISBN: 9780816081455
Encyclopedia of Gangs by Louis Kontos (Editor) et al.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Ebook Central
ISBN: 9780313334023
Encyclopedia of Victimology and Crime Prevention by Bonnie S. Fisher; Steven P. Lab (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - GVRL
ISBN: 9781412960472
The Mafia Encyclopedia by Carl Sifakis
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - EBSCO
ISBN: 9780816038565
The U.S. Justice System by Steven Harmon Wilson
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Ebook Central
ISBN: 1598843052
World Encyclopedia of Police Forces and Correctional Systems
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - GVRL
ISBN: 9780787677367

An Encyclopedia of American Women at War by Lisa Tendrich Frank
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781598844436
Encyclopedia of Invasions and Conquests : From Ancient Times to the Present (1st edition) by Paul K. Davis
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781592371143
See the Readings section for primary source materials.
Encyclopedia of Media and Propaganda in Wartime America by Martin J. Manning (Editor); Clarence R. Wyatt (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781598842272
Military Robots and Drones by Paul J. Springer
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - GVRL
ISBN: 9781598847321
The Oxford Companion to American Military History by John Whiteclay Chambers (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Oxford Reference
ISBN: 9780195071986
The Oxford Companion to Military History by Richard Holmes (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Oxford Reference
ISBN: 0198606966

Chronologies of Modern Terrorism by Barry A. Rubin; Judith Colp Rubin
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - GVRL
ISBN: 9780765620477
Publication Date: 2008-01-28
International Handbook of War, Torture, and Terrorism by Kathleen Malley-Morrison (Editor); Sherri McCarthy (Editor); Denise Hines (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Springer
ISBN: 9781461416388
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Terrorism by Augustus (Gus) Martin (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - GVRL
ISBN: 9781452266381
Terrorism: Essential Primary Sources by K. Lee Lerner and Brenda Wilmoth Lerner
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - GVRL
ISBN: 9781414406213

A Dictionary of Geography by Susan Mayhew
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Oxford Reference
ISBN: 9780199680856
Encyclopedia of Geography by Barney L. Warf (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Gale Ebooks
ISBN: 9781412956970
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
CIA World FactBook
Call Number: Online - free - CIA
The Concise Dictionary of World Place-Names by John Everett-Heath
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Oxford Reference
ISBN: 0198605374

Trible Library provides links to other websites to aid in research and is not responsible for the content or privacy policy of those sites.