Primary Sources: Eugenics: General

"The APS Digital Library provides access to a wide variety of digitized items from the holdings of the American Philosophical Society." It includes items such as: audio interviews with scientists, oral histories, and linguistic studies; Anthropology Images; Biological Sciences Images; Eugenics Images; Genetics Images; Native American Images; Social Science and Humanities Images; digitized manuscripts, books and born-digital files; etc.

"...is one of the world's leading collections in the history of health care and medicine, attracting researchers from around the world to consult its rare books and journals, archives and manuscripts, photographs and prints, and art and artifact collections. The history of medicine plays a critical role in informing contemporary medicine, at the same time that it informs our understanding of the larger society within which medicine is embedded."

"Disability is an aspect of human experience that crosses all boundaries of race, class and gender, and it leaves a trail in all societies, everywhere. Our Collections aim to reveal the rich possibilities and directions disability history offers as a means to study our collective human experience."

"For much of the 20th century, the Eugenics Society sought to increase public understanding of heredity and to influence parenthood in Britain, with the aim of biological improvement of the nation and mitigation of the burdens deemed to be imposed on society by the genetically 'unfit'. It was never a mass participation organisation: membership peaked at around 800 in its 1930s heyday. However, its members included a diverse range of influential figures, and it maintained a high profile through its programme of education and propaganda. "

HathiTrust was conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation and the University of California system to establish a repository for these universities to archive and share their digitized collections. Many of the collections are publicly accessible. Collections can be searched or browsed.

Health-P a C Bulletin is a trade journal published in United States focused on Health & Medical Sciences. This collection contains microfilm published between 1968 and 1993. The ISSN is 0017-9051.

"In the Archive you will see numerous reports, articles, charts, and pedigrees that were considered scientific "facts" in their day. It is important to remind yourself that the vast majority of eugenics work has been completely discredited. In the final analysis, the eugenic description of human life reflected political and social prejudices, rather than scientific facts."

A collection of materials related to eugenics and genetics.

"UCL Special Collections holds extensive archives relating to the history of genetics at University College London. A number of these archives have been digitised as part of a project funded by the Wellcome Trust to make archives relating to the history of genetics research freely available online."