It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary Sources: Civil Rights in America - the 1960s: University of Mississippi (1962)
"Editorial cartoon shows three white students, one carrying a sign that states "American Go Home", taunting James Meredith, an African American student, while he is studying at the University of Mississippi."
"John A. Morsell, Assistant to NAACP Executive Secretary to President John F. Kennedy requesting the assistance of the federal government in the case of James Meredith,September 21, 1962."
"President Kennedy responded by federalizing the National Guard and sending Army troops to protect Meredith. After days of violence and rioting by whites, Meredith, escorted by federal marshals, enrolled on October 1, 1962. "
"A/V History/Documentary (2014)
Journalist and historian, Elizabeth Shiver interviews Oxford, Mississippi residents and alumni of The University of Mississippi about their experiences between 1930 and 1965."
"Disclaimer: Much of the anti-Integration correspondence in this collection contains racial slurs and death threats.
Correspondence in this digital collection originates in the James Howard Meredith Collection and pertains solely to his presence at the University of Mississippi. Written from across the world in 1962-1963, these materials contain pro- and anti-Integration sentiment. The items housed at the University of Mississippi Archives & Special Collections represent a fraction of the correspondence Meredith received during his time in Oxford, MS. This collection does not include personal and business correspondence from the Meredith Collection."
"In January 1961, James Howard Meredith applied for admission to the University of Mississippi, receiving a letter of rejection on 25 May 1961. Following eighteen months of legal battles, the United States Supreme Court ruled in favor of Meredith on 10 September 1962, permitting his admission. Throughout September, Governor Ross Barnett attempted to prevent his enrollment. On 30 September 1962, Meredith arrived at the University of Mississippi campus to enroll. A riot erupted on the night of Meredith's arrival during which a white crowd attacked United States Marshals sent to protect Meredith; the arrival of federal troops ended the violence in the early hours of 1 October 1962; two bystanders were killed, 206 marshals and soldiers were wounded and 200 people were arrested during the riot. Meredith officially registered for classes in October 1962 becoming the first African-American student at the University of Mississippi."
"In October 1962, James Meredith became the first African-American student to be admitted to the University of Mississippi. While enrolled, he received hundreds of letters and telegrams from around the world, both in support of and against his cause."
"The Mississippi Education Collection contains articles, newsletters, and miscellaneous documents related to education in Mississippi. Items were created between 1924 and 2000. The collection has been digitized in its entirety."
"On September 29, 1962, as measures are taken to safely transport James Meredith to the University of Mississippi where he will enroll in accordance with a U.S. Supreme Court decision upholding desegregation of the institution, President John F. Kennedy and Attorney General Robert F. Kennedy make a series of phone calls to Gov. Ross Barnett who has openly defied the Court's ruling. In one secretly recorded call that day, Attorney General Kennedy gets exasperated when the governor shoots down his idea for crowd control. "
Newsreel about James Meredith's enrollment at the University of Mississippi.
James Meredith Attends University of Alabama
On September 30, 1962, James Meredith became the first African-American student to attend the University of Mississippi. Riots erupted on campus, prompting the dispatch of federal marshals to protect him.
via Films on Demand
Search for More
Suggested terms to look for include - diary, diaries, letters, papers, documents, documentary or correspondence.
Combine these these terms with the event or person you are researching. (example: civil war diary)
Also search by subject for specific people and events, then scan the titles for those keywords or others such as memoirs, autobiography, report, or personal narratives.