"This exhibit marks the opening for research of eight collections of 20th century women activists: the papers of Constance Baker Motley, Dorothy Kenyon, Mary Kaufman, Frances Fox Piven, Jessie Lloyd O'Connor, and Gloria Steinem and the records of the Women's Action Alliance and the National Congress of Neighborhood Women."
"The Albert M. Greenfield Digital Center for the History of Women's Education is an online locus of scholarship on the history of women’s higher education. The Center aims to foster inquiry and dialogue on how the history of women’s education has informed contemporary life and how it will shape the global future. Through its blog, exhibits, instructional lesson plans, and digital collections the Center provides informative materials and a digital space for teaching and learning on these topics."
"This series documents black women’s activism in Los Angeles from 1950 to the present, showing how women’s roles in the professions and in religious, civic, and social organizations translated into community activism to address disparities in education, healthcare, housing and political rights and access."
"College Women is a searchable collection of diaries, letters, scrapbooks, and photographs from the archives of a select group of the earliest women’s colleges in the United States, the Seven Sisters. The intention of the site is to open new avenues for research in American women’s history by making the dispersed writings, images and documents of women students easily accessible through a single search. When brought together, the collections will enable new studies in political reform and women’s rights, sexuality and body image, religion, race and class, as well as major domestic and international events."
A website from the University Library at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. This digital project "provides access to digitized primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture." Indexes are provided by author, title, subjects, or geographic area. Users may also browse or search collections. Collections include : "First-Person Narratives of the American South" , "Library of Southern Literature" , "North American Slave Narratives" , "The Southern Homefront, 1861-1865" , "The Church in the Southern Black Community" , "The North Carolina Experience, Beginnings to 1940" , and "North Carolinians and the Great War" . The site provides information on citing the documents and lesson plans and activities for classroom use.
"Compass brings together digital scholarship with cultural and historical materials contributed by Hampshire, Mount Holyoke, and Smith colleges. It provides a single point of discovery and establishes a platform that contributes to the stewardship of our digital collections. Compass supports our institutional missions of teaching and research excellence through improved access to unique materials, and creates a resource to engage both scholars and the general public. "
"HERB's classroom-ready primary documents and teaching activities engage students with deep historical questions and are designed to support learning at every level. Grounded in decades of work with history teachers in real classrooms, HERB reflects ASHP/CML’s mission of making the past, and the working people and ordinary Americans who shaped it, vivid and meaningful. "
"... is the world's largest documentation and research centre in the field of social history."
It "... holds over 3,000 archival collections, some 1 million printed volumes and about as many audio-visual items. The available Collections are accessible through an online catalogue, an online index of archives and inventories."
Some materials can be found online.
"The Lesbian Herstory Archives is home to the world's largest collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities." Materials are not available online, however, information is provided about using the archives from a distance - see the How to use the archives section of the site for details.
Digital collections available from the Library of Congress that highlight a vast number of resources on various subjects that have been digitized. It is only a small portion of what the LOC has available.
"Contains leaflets, flyers, posters, publications and ephemera. Gathered by the Social Protest Project primarily on Sproul Plaza for the UC undergraduate library between 1969-1982, the material primarly relates to the Vietnam War and Civil Rights demonstrations although there is significant material on Black Power, political issues, the Women's movement, lesbian and gay rights, Third World issues, the Left and Right, campus labor disputes, and the movement against nuclear power and nuclear weapons. "
"From the period of the 1950s through the 1970s, struggles for civil and social rights, equality, and justice swept the United States. At universities and colleges, students championed the Free Speech Movement, demanding their right to free speech, political protest, and academic freedom. African Americans struggled for civil rights, and many groups fought for social justice — demanding equal rights, better working conditions, and an end to the Vietnam War. In 1965, feelings about racial inequality and economic and social injustice boiled over into widespread violence for the first time in Los Angeles's African American community of Watts. The community's transformation from angry frustration to hopeful growth is just one example of what was taking place in similar neighborhoods across the country during this tumultuous time."
"The Social Welfare History Archives collects, preserves, and makes available for use the archives of voluntary-sector social service and social reform organizations and the personal papers of individual leaders in the field. These materials serve as sources for original research on the history of social service and social reform, focused on, but not limited to, late nineteenth and twentieth century America. "
"The exhibit We Raise Our Voices showcases selected documents from the Archives’ social justice collections. It points to the synergetic relationship between organizing a minority community to achieve political recognition and social equality, and developing a distinctive collective identity that is celebrated and expressed in many forms."
"This collection contains manifestos, speeches, essays, and other materials documenting various aspects of the Women's Movement in the United States in the 1960s and 1970s. The Women's Liberation Movement refers to a series of campaigns for reforms on issues such as reproductive rights, domestic violence, and equal pay. Feminist print culture, such as the examples provided in the collection, supported and sustained the Women¹s Movement and connect it to other movements for social justice. "
"Women Working, 1800–1930 is a digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. Working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues are among the issues documented in this online research collection from Harvard University."