Primary Sources: Medieval and Renaissance Periods: England, Wales, Scotland & Ireland

This digital library for British historical resources was created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust. It provides "text and information about people, places and businesses from the medieval and early modern period." Users are encouraged to register with the site (for free) in order to use the available advanced features. A full-text search feature is available or the collections can be browsed. Some materials are available only to subscribers [CNU does not subscribe.]

The aim is to "make scarce resources available in an electronic format to students and scholars, both within UCC and beyond. This initiative has been jointly funded by the Department of Early and Medieval Irish and by the Quality Promotion Unit (from its Quality Improvement Fund) and is an ongoing project; it is hoped to add more material to the site as time and finances allow. There are five major sections: Images (digitised pictures of interest to Celticists), Text Archive (PDF files of rare material), Articles (PDF files of selected publications by staff members), Celtic Noticeboard (an area devoted to announcements of forthcoming conferences, events, vacancies, publications etc.) and Celtic journals (tables of contents of journals of Celtic studies interest). "

"Domesday is Britain’s earliest public record. It contains the results of a huge survey of land and landholding commissioned by William I in 1085. Domesday is by the far the most complete record of pre-industrial society to survive anywhere in the world and provides a unique window on the medieval world."

"The University of Michigan Library provides access to these keyboarded and encoded editions of the works for educational and research purposes. These transcriptions are believed to be in the public domain in the United States; however, if you decide to use any of these transcriptions, you are responsible for making your own legal assessment and securing any necessary permission. If you have questions about the collection, please contact the Early English Books Online Text Creation Partnership. If you have concerns about the inclusion of an item in this collection, please contact Library Information Technology."

"Documents and texts from the National Library of Scotland's collections and other sources give an insight into the early days of the game."

Provides links to the online versions of various resources.