Is the "primary professional society of anthropologists in the United States..." The website contains a wide variety of information for anthropologists. It includes a student resources section (http://www.aaanet.org/students.htm), access to a jobs database, career resources, field school opportunities, etc. The AnthroLinks (http://www.aaanet.org/resinet.htm) area provides an annotated list of websites by topic area.
"Physical anthropology is a biological science that deals with the adaptations, variability, and evolution of human beings and their living and fossil relatives. Because it studies human biology in the context of human culture and behavior, physical anthropology is also a social science." The AAPA site provides membership and organization information. In addition student's can find information about careers, graduate programs, and funding opportunities. Some areas of the site may be limited to member access.
A site designed by the Library of Congress, the center was "created in 1976 by the U.S. Congress to "preserve and present" this great heritage of American folklife through programs of research, documentation, archival preservation, reference service, live performance, exhibition, publication, and training." Folklife reflects the culturally richness of the ordinary American through everyday life. It covers things from songs and stories to crafts. The Center includes the Archive of Folk Culture, established in the Library of Congress in 1928, which is "one of the largest collections of ethnographic material from the United States and around the world." The website provides an introduction to the American Folklife Center and its Archive of Folk Culture and provides information on programs, activities, online presentations, and the variety of other resources available for folklife research.
A division of the U.S. Department of State the Bureau's goal is to foster "mutual understanding between the United States and other countries through international educational and training programs." The website provides information on a variety of programs that aim to achieve this goal such as: the Fulbright Program, Gilman Study Abroad Scholarship Program, and the Humphrey Fellowships among many others.
"A monumental study in comparative folklore, magic and religion, The Golden Bough shows parallels between the rites and beliefs, superstitions and taboos of early cultures and those of Christianity. It had a great impact on psychology and literature and remains an early classic anthropological resource." by Sir James Frazer
A site for those interested in public anthropology. Includes information on resources including schools, journals, a photo gallery, and on anthropologists, such as Margaret Mead, who have been publicly active. The site is also involved in an ongoing project to publish summaries of articles in the leading journals of the field. The summaries are written by undergraduate and graduate students.
"...promotes the understanding and continuity of diverse contemporary grassroots cultures in the United States and abroad." The Center sponsors an annual Folklife Festival, produces documentary films, and educational materials. It also has a documentary collection of expressive culture in the Ralph Rinzler Folklife Archives and Collections." Fellowships, internships, and training opportunities are available.
The Coverdell program is based on experiences of Peace Corps Volunteers. Provides information for teachers, students, and those in the Peace Corps. Includes primary source information provided by actual Volunteers. Also provides information such as links to to pages about countries, maps, lesson plans for teaching about cultures, videos, and more.
A site from the makers of the World Public Opinion website. It is a resource for "in-depth information on US public opinion on international issues. The site includes The Digest, which provides comprehensive analyses of polling on various international topics." A search feature is provided or users may browse by issues.
"... a non-profit membership association dedicated to advancing sociology as a scientific discipline and profession serving the public good." Access to some items may be limited to members. There is a Free Downloads section of materials under the Research on Sociology section of the site.
"Through our detailed research and determined campaigning, we help fight abuses of human rights worldwide. We bring torturers to justice. Change oppressive laws. And free people jailed just for voicing their opinion." Try looking through the items on the Research section of the site to find primary snf secondary source materials.
A private, non-profit organization of scholars and educators addressing language related problems. Activities include: research, teacher education, analysis and dissemination of information, design and development of instructional materials, technical assistance, conference planning, program evaluation, and policy analysis. The website provides a wide variety of information.
"...manages 325 projects in 35 countries. Our work strengthens nearly every facet of society, including early child development, K-12 education, health promotion, workforce preparation, community development, learning technologies, basic and adult education, institutional reform, medical ethics, and social justice." The site provides information on the projects sponsored by the EDC as well as online access to many of their publications. There is also a search page that can be used to locate specific information. Searches can be conducted by keyword or by using the guided search feature.
The Institute is from the Hartford Seminary. The purpose of the site is to present research, educate, and "to assist the site's users in understanding the use of statistics and poll data, designing church web sites, on searching the web for information, and the implications of the Internet on religious life. " The site has a search feature or users can browse the site. The Research Areas link provides access by topic.
"IssueLab, a service of the Foundation Center, works to more effectively gather, index, and share the collective intelligence of the social sector. We provide free access to thousands of case studies, evaluations, white papers, and issue briefs addressing some of the world's most pressing social problems."
The Center looks at issues related to gun violence from the public health perspective. It is run by "a team of faculty, staff, and affiliated experts dedicated to preventing gun violence, injury, and death." The site provides access to some of the center's publications and surveys online, as well as links related to gun violence prevention.
"The Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies is a national, nonprofit research and public policy institution. Founded in 1970 by black intellectuals and professionals to provide training and technical assistance to newly elected black officials, the Joint Center is recognized today as one of the nation’s premier think tanks on a broad range of public policy issues of concern to African Americans and other communities of color." The website provides a Data Bank of statistical information, abstracts of available publications, and information on the programs sponsored by the Center.
The National Opinion Research Center, NORC, is a private, non-commercial social science research organization. Some citations for NORC publications include links to downloadable PDF documents or to external websites, which may require registration, subscription, or payment to view the document. See the publications area of the site for more information.
A project of the Pew Research Center, the forum is a non-partisan organization that "does not take positions on policy debates." It seeks to provide impartial information to government officials, journalists, policy analysts and advocacy groups. It gathers information and also provides a place for discussion of issues regarding religion and politics. The site provides information on a variety of topics where religion intersects with public policy such as: the death penalty, faith based initiatives, religion in public schools, etc. Also find religious news, information on upcoming events, surveys, reports, as well as links to other sites.
This site is run by Dr. Michael C. Kearl, an author and a professor at Trinity University. The site provides links to a variety of sociology related websites in an effort "to stimulate the sociological imagination" In addition to links to general sources, there are links to sociological theory information, data resources, methods and statistics, a guide to writing a research paper, and other resources.
"The SocioWeb is operated by Mark Blair of Blairworks, a leading Web development firm in Sonoma County, California. Mark Blair is a graduate of Sociology at Sonoma State University, with an emphasis in the sociology of technology." It provides a searchable or browsable directory to sociological resources on the internet.
Provides information and analysis on public opion from all over the world. Explore the site through topics or by regions of the world. This site is "a publication of the Program on International Policy Attitudes at the University of Maryland."