Skip to main content

Getting Started Guide: Plays: Finding

places to find and research plays

Trible Library Catalog

Search for more

 

Trible Library Catalog Search Examples

Author (playwright) Search

Last Name, First Name 

Example Williams, Tennessee

 

Title Search

Example The Glass Menagerie  

 

Keyword Search

This search can be helpful for locating plays in collections, although not all plays in a collection are listed separately.

Example  Letters to a student revolutionary by Elizabeth Wong

This play will not show up in a Title Search or in an Author Search, but is available in a collection of plays.

Trible Library Catalog Subject Search Examples

If you are not looking for a specific play or playwright try searching by subject

Examples:

Play Indexes

INDEXES

  • Will not provide the actual text of the play,

  • Provides citations to the collection, anthology or periodical where the play may be found

  • Will require you to go back to the online catalog to see if Trible Library has the collection or to Journal Finder to see if the periodical is available

  • Are a good place to look for lesser known plays and playwrights

  • You may need to consult several indexes to find a specific play

  • Many of the indexes are in print format


Periodicals - Plays

  • Some periodicals regularly publish plays
  • This is a list of some of those titles available in Trible Library
  • Every issue may not contain a play(s)

Plays Online

Trible Library provides links to other websites to aid in research and is not responsible for the content or privacy policy of those sites.