From Washington State University: "This stylebook is written for journalists who write about agriculture for the general public. It is intended as a supplement to the Associated Press Stylebook." Provides an alphabetical list of terms related to agriculture.
This site is hosted by Bird Studies Canada and is maintained by Denis Lepage. The database provides access to information about birds from all over the world. It includes taxonomy, a map of the location of the bird, access to the Google Image search for pictures and other information.
"is a not-for-profit scholarly publishing cooperative committed to providing open access to quality research journals published in developing countries." The site is managed by librarians and scientists.
Provides access to an image bank with images available for non-commercial use to enhance Earth education. (Some images can be used commercially for a fee.) The images can be searched or browsed. Also available on the site is information about careers, an Interactive Geological Time Scale, games and other resources.
Covering 1948 to the present this free databse from the U.S. Department of Energy provides "bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). " It includes literature from scientific disciplines related to energy.
This site features access to biographical information on scientists and encyclopedias in the areas of astronomy, chemistry, mathematics and physics. There is a site search feature or information can be accessed by browsing the desired topic area. Each area also has an alphabetical index. The biography area is broken down by branch of science, gender/minority status, historical periods, nationality, and prize winners.
Search over 30 journals from leading earth science societies and institutes. A browsing feature is also available. Searching and viewing of the abstracts is available for free. CNU users can check our Journal Finder database for availability of full-text or request articles not available through ILL. Some sample articles are provided for free.
Used in Science, Mathematics, and in names of fraternities and sororities the Greek alphabet has been in use since around the 9th Century B.C. This chart provides the alphabet letter symbols, names and the English equivalent.
This are of the Jefferson Lab website provides access to science resources and materials for teachers and students. It includes reference materials, activities, homework helpers, games, puzzles, information on internships and more.
The National Aeronautics and Space Administration website provides resources for students and teachers, information on grants and fellowship opportunities, and a variety of resources to "enhance many science-related subjects."
Contains over 600 peer reviewed cases in science - "Copyright for these materials is held by the National Center for Case Study Teaching in Science. They may be used by teachers subject to our usage guidelines (see Permitted Uses)."
"... is a digital library of exemplary resource collections and services, organized in support of science education at all levels. NSDL provides educational resources for science, technology, engineering and mathematics education. The NSDL mission is to both deepen and extend science literacy through access to materials and methods that reveal the nature of the physical universe and the intellectual means by which we discover and understand it." Users can search or browse the available collections. Includes the ability to send questions to over 300 professionals from research, industry, government, and academia. College Professors and Students will find useful items under the Higher Education portion of the site.
"an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense…" In addition to funding information the site provides access to news, special reports, speeches & lectures, as well as some audio and video files.
A database of online biomedical books from the NCBI. It "can be searched directly by typing a concept into the textbox." Information on citing these online books is provided in the FAQ section of the site.
The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration is an agency of the Federal Government. The website provides access to weather related information, news, statistics, resources, etc. Includes access to the NOAA library, information on climate conditions, oceans, and more.
"... an international award given yearly since 1901 for achievements in physics, chemistry, medicine, literature and for peace. In 1968, the Bank of Sweden instituted the Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, founder of the Nobel Prize." The site provides information on the selection process as well as winners, articles, and educational resources. Sections of the site are devoted to each prize category.
"...is a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource." Find out about the PLoS open access project and access free online journals.
This site is from the Howard Huges Medical Institute. The Knowing How to Practice Safe Science training course has an available link for non-HHMI employees. The course can be taken in "its entirety or go to the Contents page and select specific topics. A final exam appears only if you take the entire course. Your score, which you may print out as a record of your training, will not be sent to HHMI."
"The National Library of Medicine (NLM) is making the archival collections of leaders in biomedical research and public health available on its Profiles in Science web site. ... Many of the collections have been donated to NLM and contain published and unpublished items, including books, journal volumes, pamphlets, diaries, letters, manuscripts, photographs, audiotapes, video clips, and other materials."
A non-profit corporation which conducts research on into a wide variety of areas including: Child Policy, Civil Justice, Education, Energy and the Environment, Substance Abuse, Terrorism and Homeland Security, etc. Many of their documents are available for free downloading, other publications may require a fee.
"Science.gov is a gateway to more than 50 million pages of government science information." The site can be searched or browsed by subject. Includes information on internships, fellowships, conferences and more.
This site is a good place to start science fair project ideas. Users can choose ideas by subject category or access resources for middle school or high school students. In addition to links for project ideas the site provides links to other general resources for science fairs such as report writing, the scientific method, and general tips.
"... is funded by the Office of Science for the U.S. Department of Energy (DoE) with strong support from the City of Newport News, the Commonwealth of Virginia, and the United States Congress. As a user facility for scientists worldwide, its primary mission is to conduct basic research of the atom’s nucleus at the quark level." The website provides information about the lab, publications, employment and internship information, and educational resources.
United States Geological Survey is a "federal source for science about the Earth, its natural and living resources, natural hazards, and the environment." The site provides access to a number of different resources. Among those are the Publications Warehouse - "Availability of content ranges from USGS Store purchase, to full text, to bibliographic citation only," Geological Information - "Includes links to major USGS geoscience databases and programs as well as resources for creating digital geologic maps," National Water Data - "provides a comprehensive gateway to water-resources data collected at approximately 1.5 million sites in all 50 States, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico." The site also has an educational section designed mainly for K-12 students and teachers. It provides access to information about USGS employment opportunities, student employment, post-doctoral employment programs, intern programs, and volunteer opportunities.
This site by Eric Weisstein "is written and maintained by the author as a public service for scientific knowledge and education." Dr. Weisstein "graduated from Cornell University (B.A., 1990) with a degree in physics and from the California Institute of Technology (M.S., 1993; Ph.D., 1996) with degrees in planetary astronomy." The site has an alphabetical listing of scientists. Users may also select scientists by Branch of Science, Gender/Minority Status, Historical Periods, Nationality, or Prize Winners. Lengths of biographies vary and some include pictures.