LibGuides: Primary Sources: Slavery & Abolition: Garrison, William Lloyd

Online Sources: William Lloyd Garrison

Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division Washington, D.C. 20540 USA

http://loc.gov/pictures/resource/cph.3a12743/

Boston Public Library Anti-Slavery Collection
more...less...
"Anti-Slavery collection (approximately 40,000 pieces). In the late 1890's, the family of William Lloyd Garrison, along with others closely involved in the anti-slavery movement, presented the library with a major gathering of correspondence, documents, and other original material relating to the abolitionist cause from 1832 until after the Civil War. The major holdings consist of the papers of William Lloyd Garrison, Maria Weston Chapman and Deborah Weston, Lydia Maria Child, Amos Augustus Phelps, John Bishop Estlin, and Samuel May, Jr. "
Internet Archive: Works by William Lloyd Garrison
Letter: Frederick Douglass to William Lloyd Garrison
more...less...
FROM The Liberator, 27 March 1846; Reprinted in Philip Foner, ed., Life and Writings of Frederick Douglass, vol. 1 (New York: International Publishers, 1950), p. 138.

Digital document courtesy of the Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition (http://www.yale.edu/glc/)
The Liberator, William Lloyd Garrison’s (via PrimaryResearch)
more...less...
"This database contains 828 indexed articles (436 which are provided in full-text) which appeared between 1831 and 1855 in William Garrison's abolitionist newspaper The Liberator. These articles were chosen as potentially useful to the research of civic engagement through voluntary assocations among both African-American and white Bostonians during the antebellum period. The resulting database is provided to complement our biographical database of African Americans in Beacon Hill and the West End, 1848-1853." primaryresearch.org
The Liberator 1831-1865 (via Accessible Archives)
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
The Liberator was a weekly newspaper published by William Lloyd Garrison in Boston, Massachusetts. William Lloyd Garrison was born in Newburyport, Massachusetts in December, 1805. At thirteen years of age he began his newspaper career with the Newburyport Herald, where he acquired great skills in both accuracy and speed in the art of setting type. He also wrote anonymous articles, and at the age of twenty-one began publishing his own newspaper.
The Liberator Files (Selections from the Liberator)
more...less...
"This is a collection of items which appear in THE LIBERATOR, a Boston-based Abolitionist newspaper, published under the editorship of William Lloyd Garrison, who lived from 1805–1879.

The assembled items represent only a tiny portion of what appeared in the 1,803 editions of the paper, published weekly from 1831-1865. . The source of the collection has been Garrison’s copies of THE LIBERATOR., access to which has been granted and facilitated by the Boston Public Library, Rare Books."
Teaching American History: William Lloyd Garrison Documents

Book Sources: William Lloyd Garrison

A selection of books/e-books available in Trible Library.
Click the title for location and availability information.

Off campus access instructions (for e-books)

The Abolition of Slavery the Right of the Government under the War Power by William Lloyd Garrison
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
The Abolitionist (1833) by William Lloyd Garrison
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
An Address, delivered before the Free People of Color, in Philadelphia by William Lloyd Garrison
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Address delivered in Boston, New York and Philadelphia by William Lloyd Garrison
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
An Address delivered in Marlboro' Chapel by William Lloyd Garrrionson
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Documents of Upheaval by Truman Nelson
Call Number: E449.L695 D6
Helen Eliza Garrison. A Memorial... by William Lloyd Garrison
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
A Letter from James Boyle to Wm. Lloyd Garrison by James Boyle
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
A Letter on the Political Obligations of Abolitionists by James G. Birney
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Letters of Mr. William E. Chandler Relative to the so-called Southern Policy of President Hayes by William E. Chandler
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
No Compromise with Slavery by William Lloyd Garrison
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Selections from the Writings and Speeches of William Lloyd Garrison by William Lloyd Garrison
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Thoughts on African Colonization (print) by William Lloyd Garrison
Call Number: E448.G242 T5
Thoughts on African Colonization (ebook) by William Lloyd Garrison
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Three Unlike Speeches
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Sonnets and Other Poems by William Lloyd Garrison
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Southern Hatred of the American Government, the People of the North, and Free Institutions by William Lloyd Garrison
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
The Spirit of the South towards Northern Freemen by William Lloyd Garrison
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust

Search for More

Suggested terms to look for include - diary, diaries, letters, papers, documents, documentary or correspondence.

Combine these these terms with the event or person you are researching. (example: civil war diary)

Also search by subject for specific people and events, then scan the titles for those keywords or others such as memoirs, autobiography, report, or personal narratives.