LibGuides: Business Research: Industry Research

Scroll to the Explore Industries section

Click the Browse All Industries button

Use the search box to search by industry name or NAICS code

Under the search box, browse by NAICS code

Business Insights
Research and analyze companies and industries around the world. Featuring the content you need to explore a global business landscape: extensive reference content from Gale's core business collection; easy-to-use company fundamentals and investment research reports; industry rankings, profiles, market share data, company histories, and more.

In the Browse section click the Industry Profiles link (outlined in purple)

industry profiles link

Search Alphabetical or by Title, Subject & Description in the All Profiles tab OR

Click the Industry tab (outlined in purple) to browse a list of industries

industry tab

Business Source Complete
A scholarly business database providing full-text and bibliographic access to materials: journals, financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

Click on the Browse link (outlined in purple)

Look under Industry and Market Research (purple arrow)

Click a report name (BMI Industry Reports, First Research, etc.)

Click an industry

ProQuest Business Database

Define your region (state, county, ZIP code, etc.)
A map will be created using Census data
Use variables to refine the data
Choose an industry
Build your report

Census website screenshot, Industry option

Census website screenshot, build report option

Census Business Builder - Regional Analyst Edition

1. From the start page go to Companies/Markets in the top line (outlined in purple)

select companies/markets tab

2. Choose Industry (outlined in purple)

select industry

3. Select an industry from the alphabetical list

Factiva
Need to create a permalink to a Factiva article that will work off campus? Use the Factiva Article Link Generator!

Factiva.com covers the world's leading news and business sources from from around the world; also provides access to media program transcripts, web sites (news and business sites,) company reports with financial data including ratio, pictures, and historical market data. Content is supplied in 22 languages including English, Spanish, and French.

In addition to the reports in the library's database these sites may provide useful information on the industry you are researching.

Bureau of Labor Statistics: Statistics by Industry
more... less...

"Over 100 industry pages are available. These pages display a ‘snapshot’ of national data obtained from different BLS surveys and programs. The data shown are based on the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) supersector, sector, and industry level."
Current Industrial Reports U.S. Census
more... less...

"The Current Industrial Report (CIR) program has been providing monthly, quarterly, and annual measures of industrial activity for many years. The primary objective of the CIR program is to produce timely, accurate data on production and shipments of selected products. The data are used to satisfy economic policy needs and for market analysis, forecasting, and decision-making in the private sector. "
Deloitte Industries
Encyclopedia of American Industries 2011 (Gale Ebooks)
more... less...

provides detailed, comprehensive information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business
Export Information By Industry
more... less...

"This industry information is updated regularly by our commercial specialists around the world, so make sure to check back for updates on your industry."
Global Edge - Global Insights
more... less...

Global Insights provides international business and trade information on over 200 countries, the 50 U.S. states, as well as nearly two dozen industry sectors, and many of the world’s trade blocs.
Industry Information Resources from Valuation Resources
more... less...

"The industry resources section is a directory of resources for a wide variety of industries and addresses subjects such as industry overview, issues, trends, and outlook, financial benchmarking, and compensation surveys." It covers 250 industries and they can be accessed by SIC codes and categories.
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
PriceWaterhouseCoopers Industries
more... less...

Information from the PWC company on a variety of industries, some of which is freely accessible.
Small Business Development Center
more... less...

"The SBDCNET web site and its many resources are available to the public. The web site contains links of interest to the budding entrepreneur, the established small business owner, and the business researcher including: business plans, industry information, associations, spanish language business documents, and publications."
U.S. Census: Business & Economy
more... less...

Access industry data from the U.S. Census Bureau
Virginia Workforce Connection
more... less...

This site includes:
Comprehensive job matching between job seekers and employers; finding information on that perfect job; wage data, skill requirements, as well as industry and occupational trends and information on potential training opportunities