Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Copyright Resources: Print Resources

Overview: Reproduction of Material for Teaching and Research

In the context of the CNU policy, reproduction refers to reproducing material in either physical or digital format, including photocopying or printing copies, as well as scanning, transmitting, and/or downloading a digital copy. Ordinarily, reproducing copyrighted material without the permission of the copyright owner is a violation of the exclusive rights of the copyright owner. The Copyright Act balances user’s rights by creating limited exceptions from these exclusive rights, such as allowing copying for face-to- face teaching or fair use. Furthermore, reproduction is completely unrestricted for some works, while unauthorized copying is always forbidden for other types of materials.

Continue reading for more detailed information at Policy Section IV:  Reproduction of Material for Teaching and Research

Open Textbook Collections

The Open Textbook movement focuses on the creation and use of books which are openly licensed -- in short, free and editable. These textbooks are also openly licensed with a Creative Commons meaning that dependent on the license, they may be legally displayed/uploaded/hosted, distributed, modified, etc. without fee, permission, or conducting a fair use analysis. (See Creative Commons for more information on the various CC open licenses.) 

Many of the collections will have links to the same books, but each collection has items unique to their collection.

Additional books that are not technically "open" are also listed. They may be "free online" but subject to copyright, or they may be low cost options.

Subscription E-Books

Electronic books are available through many providers, including some free collections, some by subscription only, and some that are a combination of free and subscription-only materials. Please note that users may be required to download special software to access some materials. Users are also responsible for complying with any copyright, licensing or other notices on individual sites.

CNU ONLY  Off campus access information

Finding OER

Open Textbooks have been released with an open license (usually a Creative Commons license) which allows them to be reused, remixed, and redistributes in courses for free.

Open Educational Resource Repositories contain more than just open textbooks. They also have other digital learning materials, covering all educational disciplines,  such as:

  • full courses
  • modules
  • syllabi
  • lectures
  • homework assignments
  • quizzes
  • lab activities
  • games
  • simulations

Open CourseWare These are collections of materials submitted by faculty members at universities that are part of the OCW movement.

Finding Open Images:  Some search sites and techniques to help you find openly licensed images.

In addition, Trible Library electronic resources can usually be linked to in your Scholar course shell to provide access to licensed material.  Also, Librarians are experts in finding and evaluating resources. This includes Open Educational Resources (OER). Contact a reference librarian for more information.

Free E-Book Sites

Electronic books are available through many providers, including some free collections, some by subscription only, and some that are a combination of free and subscription-only materials. Please note that users may be required to download special software to access some materials. Users are also responsible for complying with any copyright, licensing or other notices on individual sites.

Trible Library provides links to other websites to aid in research and is not responsible for the content or privacy policy of those sites.