Home - ENVS 519 - Restoration Ecology - LibGuides at Christopher Newport University

Selected Online Resources

Office of Surface Mining Reclamation and Enforcement
Reforestation Guidelines for Unused Surface Mined Lands in the Eastern United States
Document by the VTech Extension, linked to on the OSME page.
Appalachian Regional Reforestation Initiative FRAs
Part of the OSME site. List 18 different Forest Reclamation Advisories.
The Forestry Reclamation Approach: guide to successful reforestation of mined lands
2017 from the USDA Forest Service. discusses FRAs
SURFACE MINING CONTROL AND RECLAMATION ACT OF 1977
e-AMLIS mapping
Part of the Abandoned Mine Land Inventory System
American Society of Reclamation Sciences
You can look at Table of Contents from Past Proceedings under Publications

Bat species that may be potentially encountered at mine sites:

Virginia big-eared bat Corynorhinus townsendii virginianus (Red List entry?)(ECOS entry)
Indiana bat Myotis sodalis (Red List entry) NT (ECOS entry)
Northern long-eared bat Myotis septrionalis (Red List entry) NT (ECOS entry)
Gray bat Myotis grisescens (Red List entry) VU (ECOS entry)
Ozark big-eared bat Corynorhinus townsendii ingens (Red List entry?) (ECOS entry)
Eastern small-footed bat Myotis leibeii (Red List entry) VU (BCI entry)
Little Brown Bat Myotis lucifugus (Red List entry) EN (ECOS entry) under review
Tri-colored bat Perimyotis subflavus (Red List entry) VU (ECOS entry) proposed endangered

North American Bat Monitoring Program
Bat Conservation and Mining
From the Office of Surface Mining Reclamation and Enrichment
Bat Conservation International
List of Scientific Publications under "About Us"
Proceedings of BAT CONSERVATION AND MINING: A TECHNICAL INTERACTIVE FORUM 2000 forum Sponsored by the Office of Surface Mining, Bat Conservation International, Inc., Coal Research Center, Southern Illinois University at Carbondale
Threatened, Endangered, and Sensitive Bat Species
U.S. Forest Service Southern Research Station
Range-wide Indiana Bat Protection and Enhancement Plan Guidelines

The Big Muskie Bucket, McConnelsville, OH

Recommended Library Databases for General & Environmental Topics

Off campus access information

ProQuest Science & Technology Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches a combination of 13 ProQuest databases related to science & technology topics.
EBSCOHost Research Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost Tutorial
Provides access to databases covering a variety of topics. Provides access to full-text for some items.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Tutorial
An online database of full-content articles from various journals in many subject areas including, but not limited to African American studies, Ecology, Economics, History, Literature and Mathematics. Many journals start with the first volume and issue; current issues are usually not available due to an embargo period. Also includes access to primary source materials and images.
BioOne This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
BioOne provides a unique aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journals, featuring timely content on a wide-array of today’s most pressing topics, including global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation. Many items are full-text.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
WorldCat Discovery lets you search a wide variety of resources all at once. Includes links to full-text resources as well as information on the Trible Library's print collection and information on resources available from around the world. Find something you need but we don't have access - CNU students, faculty and staff can request items through the interlibrary loan service!

Other databases and pre-print servers

EPA.gov search for surface coal mining
National Service Center for Environmental Publications (epa.gov)
USFWS National Digital Library
Digital Commons Network Free, full text content including peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, and other original scholarly work from institutional repositories of hundreds of universities and colleges hosted on the Digital Commons platform.
PLoS - Public Library of Science
more...less...
"...is a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource." Find out about the PLoS open access project and access free online journals.
OSFPreprints A platform hosting a number of disciplinary repositories, including BioRxiv, Earth Arxiv, PsyArXiv, SocArXiv, and Thesis Commons. Note: These are not indexed in OpenDOAR.
Semantic Scholar
ScienceDirect Useful for determining who articles have been cited by (link in right hand column). Only contains articles published by Elsevier and we do not have full text access to most articles. You may need Interlibrary Loan to get articles. Selecting Access Type in the left hand column as Open Access and Open Archive will limit results to freely available articles.
Google Scholar Not all material is available in full-text nor is it all free. Ask the library to see if we can provide you with free access to the materials you find!
more...less...
"Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research." https://scholar.google.com/intl/en/scholar/about.html

coal mining reclamation site:.gov search sample

You can also do a Google search and add site:.gov to the end of it to limit results to government websites. Or site:.edu for educational sites.

Example: coal mining reclamation site:.gov
Adding <forest practice acts> will retrieve those from many individual states

VA Energy Mined Land Repurposing
Abandoned Mines Problems - Indiana Dept of Natural Resources
Coal Program Big Sky Mine summary video
2 min from Montana Department of Environmental Quality on evaluation before Bond Release
Reclamation of Coal Mining Operations: Select Issues and Legislation
Nov. 17, 2020 report prepared for members of congress
2022 NAAMLP conference sessions and slide decks
BLM Abandoned Mine Lands Program
National Association of Abandoned Mine Land Programs

Data Sources / Project Outcomes

Datashed.org
DataONE
Provides access to data across multiple member repositories, supporting enhanced search and discovery of Earth and environmental data
Dataset Search by Google
ECOLOGICAL RESTORATION ON THE MONONGAHELA NATIONAL FOREST
2022 Report

Guide Owner

Trible Library at CNU

Contact:

Paul & Rosemary Trible Library

library@cnu.edu

Visit Us
1 Avenue of the Arts
Newport News, VA 23606

Circulation: 757-594-7133
Media: 757-594-8894

Subjects: Interdisciplinary

Connected Papers

Connected Papers

Enter the doi or title of a paper to get a "graph" of papers related to it (the origin paper).

It's a "visual understanding of the trends, popular works and dynamics of the field you're interested in." Papers are arranged by similarity "based on the concepts of Co-citation and Bibliographic Coupling" with data coming from Semantic Scholar.

Tips for reading the graph:
Each node is an academic paper related to the origin paper.

Papers are arranged according to their similarity (this is not a citation tree)
Node size is the number of citations
Node color is the publishing year
Similar papers have strong connecting lines and cluster together

When you click on a node, you can see the article information on the right hand side. There are links to Semantic Scholar, the article publisher, and Google Scholar to lead to full text and a link to build a graph based on that paper as an origin paper.

The PRIOR WORKS button will show a list of papers that were "most commonly cited by the papers in the graph. This usually means that they are important seminal works for this field and it could be a good idea to get familiar with them."

The DERIVATIVE WORKS button will show a list of papers that "cited many of the papers in the graph. This usually means that they are either surveys of the field or recent relevant works which were inspired by many papers in the graph." AKA Cited Bys

The "snow" toggle is only to be festive for winter.

Another to try? LitMaps

ENVS 519 - Restoration Ecology: Home