LibGuides: HIST 383: Filthy Paris: Databases

Time Period Search Terms

There are many time periods that overlap with nineteenth-century Paris. You may need to include one, or more, of these terms to help narrow your database search:

Nineteenth (as in century)	Fin de siecle
Second Republic	Second Empire
Third Republic	Belle Epoque
etc.

Databases

Some helpful databases:

Historical Abstracts (with Full-Text)
Full text articles, article abstracts and bibliographical citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world, except the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present.
JSTOR
JSTOR Tutorial

An online database of full-content articles from various journals in many subject areas including, but not limited to African American studies, Ecology, Economics, History, Literature and Mathematics. Many journals start with the first volume and issue; current issues are usually not available due to an embargo period. Also includes access to primary source materials and images.
Project Muse
Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. Provides access to the full-text/full-image of articles.
ProQuest Central
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
ProQuest Health & Medicine Databases
Combines multiple ProQuest health and medical related database content into one search.
ProQuest History Databases
Search multiple history related databases that include: dissertations, newspapers, primary sources, and more.
ProQuest Social Sciences Databases
Searches multiple social science related databases, including dissertations, in one search.
Public Health Database
This database allows you to search the core literature in the field of public health.
PubMed
PubMed® comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Women's Studies International
Covers the core disciplines and latest scholarship in Women’s Studies and in feminist research. With coverage spanning from 1972, and sometimes earlier, to present this database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites and Web documents, and grey literature. The full-text is provided for many of the items.

WorldCat Discovery:

WorldCat Discovery
WorldCat Discovery lets you search a wide variety of resources all at once. Includes links to full-text resources as well as information on the Trible Library's print collection and information on resources available from around the world. Find something you need but we don't have access - CNU students, faculty and staff can request items through the interlibrary loan service!

All other databases found here:

A to Z Database List
A list of every database available at CNU.

Other Tools

Hathi Trust

HathiTrust is a digital library that hosts public domain content - they have scanned and uploaded a number of publications for which the copyright protections have expired. Currently, works from 1929 and earlier are available.

The medical journal, The Lancet, was first published in 1823 and much of its pre-1929 content can be found at HathiTrust, here and here.