"The IAPSOP Archives are maintained by an informal collective of students, academics and researchers with an interest in the periodical literature of Spiritualism and the occult, for the purposes of preserving the substantial body of Spiritualist and occult periodical literature produced between the 1840s and the start of the Second World War. These materials are provided in curated, digital form, already indexed, suitable for online reading, scholarly use and citation.
As with all such open source archival projects, IAPSOP provides these materials for their historical value; no endorsement of any position is implied by the provision of particular materials in the Archive, and IAPSOP makes no warrantees as to the fitness of these materials for any particular purpose other that historical research."
"Harry Houdini (1874-1926), master magician and escape artist, wrote in A Magician Among the Sprits, (1924) that he had "accumulated one of the largest libraries in the world on psychic phenomena, Spiritualism, magic, witchcraft, demonology, evil spirits, etc., some of the material going back as far as 1489." In 1927, through Houdini's bequest, the Library received 3,988 volumes from his collection. While strongest in nineteenth and twentieth century publications on spiritualism- Houdini doubted "if any one in the world has so complete a library on modern Spiritualism: - the Houdini Collection contains a number of magic books inscribed or annotated by well-known magicians. Leonard N. Beck. discusses significant items in "Things Magical in the Collections of the Rare Book Division," QJLC, v. 31, October 1974, p. 208-234. Also in the collection are prints, playbills, printed ephemera, periodicals, and many volumes of pamphlets on such topics as card tricks, mediums, hypnotism, handcuff escape methods, and chalk-talking. Of special note are over one hundred unannotated scrapbooks containing theatre notices and news clippings on subjects of personal interest. Houdini's theatrical collection was sold after his death to Messmore Kendall and later donated to the University of Texas."
"This collection consists of a complete run of ‘The Spiritualist’, later ‘The Spiritualist Newspaper’, and a partial run of its short lived successor ‘Psyche’.
Published in London from 1869-1882, ‘The Spiritualist’ is a key title of the spiritualist movement, and significant in relation to the development of the movement in the UK. Unusually for this era it has a strong focus on women, due to their dominance in the movement.
Spiritualism started in New York in 1848 arriving in Britain in the 1850s. With no central structure or key texts journals played an important role in the movement. Edinburgh-born Sir Arthur Conan Doyle was among the supporters of spiritualism. Detractors included his friend Harry Houdini, who collected spiritualist publications including this title which is in the Harry Houdini Collection in the Library of Congress."
Book Sources: Spiritualism
A selection of books/e-books available in Trible Library.
Click the title for location and availability information.