Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where do I find primary sources?
- Primary Sources can be found in many places such as: libraries, archives, museums, websites, and private collections.
- Primary source materials are often reprinted in published collections such as the Milestone Documents series from Salem Press.
- Many primary source materials have been digitized and made available on the internet, giving you access to materials that were previously only available by taking a trip to the organization that held the item.
- Check the bibliography/works cited pages of a secondary source to see what primary source materials were used.
- This libguide has been designed to help you find some of the primary source materials available in Trible Library as well as world wide. It is a small fraction of what is available.
- Are you having trouble locating a primary source for your paper? Please ask for help.
Finding Primary Sources in the Trible Library Collection
- The online catalog is a search engine of the print and media resources owned by the library.
- Suggested terms to look for include - diary, diaries, letters, papers, documents, documentary or correspondence.
- Combine these these terms with the event or person you are researching.
For example: civil war diary as a keyword search leads you to resources such as:
- Captain Greenlee Davidson, C.S.A. : diary and letters, 1851-1863 / [compiled by] Charles W. Turner. (Rare Books E605 .D26 1975 )
- A diary from Dixie, as written by Mary Boykin Chesnut, wife of James Chesnut, Jr., United States senator from South Carolina, 1859-1861, and afterward an aide to Jefferson Davis and a brigadier-general in the Confederate army ; ed. by Isabella D. Martin and Myrta Lockett Avary.(General Collection E487. C524 D5 )
- A Confederate girl's diary [microform] / by Sarah Morgan Dawson ; with an introduction by Warrington Dawson and with illustrations.(Microforms MICRO LAC 16356)
- Search by subject for specific people and events, then scan the titles for those keywords or others such as memoirs, autobiography, report, or personal narratives.
For example: a subject search for Kennedy, John F. leads to:
- Report of the Warren Commission on the Assassination of President Kennedy. Introd. by Harrison E. Salisbury . With additional material prepared by the New York times exclusively for this edition. (General Collection E842.9 .A55 1964 )
- Letters to Kennedy / John Kenneth Galbraith ; edited by James Goodman. (General Collection E842 .A4 1998 )
- Search for specific people that you are aware of that were involved in the event, knew the person, or for the person himself as an author
For example: an author search on Nixon, Richard leads to:
- RN : the memoirs of Richard Nixon . (General Collection E856 .A35 1988 )
And author search on Liddy, G. Gordon leads to:
- Will : the autobiography of G. Gordon Liddy . (General Collection E860.L713 W6 )