Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Getting Started Guide: Children's Literary Awards: Others

Caldecott, Newbery, etc.

Pura Belpré Medal

The Pura Belpré medal has been awarded since 1996 (biannually 1996-2008; now annually) "to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth."






Theodor Seuss Geisel Medal

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award has been awarded annually since 2006 "to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers."






Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal

Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal has been awarded annually since 2001 "to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational book," for children.





  • "Robert F. Sibert was a longtime President of Bound To Stay Bound Books, Inc. in Jacksonville Illinois. He established standards for book binding through the American Library Association. Mr. Sibert was a strong supporter of the library profession and library education." (


Children's Literature Legacy Award Recipients

The award was first given in 1954 to Laura Ingalls Wilder and was named after her. Beginning in 2018 the award was renamed The Children's Literature Legacy Award. It became an annual award in 2016. "an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children."





Trible Library Catalog Search

Find More items in Trible Library

Trible Library provides links to other websites to aid in research and is not responsible for the content or privacy policy of those sites.