Election Resources: Home

"... a nonpartisan, nonprofit, "consumer advocate" for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics." FactCheck.org monitors TV ads, debates, speeches, etc. for factual accuracy. The service is provided as a project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania. Use the site to find out the truth behind the political rhetoric.

Washington Post blog that checks "The Truth Behind the Rhetoric" by Glenn Kessler

"PolitiFact is a nonpartisan fact-checking website to sort out the truth in American politics. PolitiFact was created by the Tampa Bay Times, a Florida newspaper, in 2007. In 2018, PolitiFact was acquired by the Poynter Institute, a nonprofit school for journalists."

Did you hear about that guy who went on vacation to Hawaii and he woke up in his hotel room in a bathtub full of ice and there was a note telling him his kidney was gone and to call 911...?
Did you also hear that it isn't true?
This site covers "not only urban legends but also common fallacies, misinformation, old wives' tales, strange news stories, rumors, celebrity gossip, and similar items."

The web page for the Democratic Party provides information about the Party's platform as well as information on contributing to the party and other ways to get involved in the political process.

This site from the Federal Register provides information about the U.S. Electoral College System. It includes historical election results, answers to questions about the electoral college, resources for teachers and for state officials.

The FEC was created in 1975 to "administer and enforce the Federal Election Campaign Act - the statute that governs the financing of federal elections." Find answers to a variety of questions about campaign financing. The site includes a searchable disclosure database as well as other finance reports and data.

"The online home of our nation's premier grassroots citizen organization." The site is designed for those looking for all types of political information including voting, civic participation, and policy issues. The site provides the information and tools to "get involved in the democratic process at the federal, state and local levels. The site includes a Video Archive with Presidential Debate and Public Service Announcement footage which has been converted into streaming media files to be watched with Windows Media Player. Also available are .pdf versions of some of the League's historical documents and images of historical photographs. Additional publications are available either for downloading in .pdf format or for purchase in print format.

"Project Vote Smart, a citizen's organization, has developed a Voter's Self-Defense system to provide you with the necessary tools to self-govern effectively: abundant, accurate, unbiased and relevant information. As a national library of factual information, Project Vote Smart covers your candidates and elected officials in five basic categories: biographical information, issue positions, voting records, campaign finances and interest group ratings." The site provides a variety of resources for voters in a non-partisan format.

This is the website of the Republican Party. Users can learn about the GOP, the Party's platform and how to become involved in the political process.