Article Search Tips: Finding Full Text

• Click myLinks
• Click Library Databases

• Access Databases & Journal Finder from the library's website

• DO NOT use Google or Google Scholar links or other search engine links

• DO NOT go directly to the journal's website

 

If you do you may NOT be able to access the text for free

Go through us & get it free!

Journal Finder   Interlibrary Loan

 

 

• Many of the library's databases contain full text articles

• Look for links or icons that say Full Text or PDF

•  Many databases let you limit items to Full Text - look for choices such as these

 

 

• Remember you may miss a great article that is available full text somewhere else!
• If an article is not full text in the database you are using there are other options available!

 

Journal Finder

Interlibrary Loan

Go to another library

Have a citation to an article?

Try using Article Finder!

Access Article Finder

 

Use Journal Finder

Many databases will have a link to access Journal Finder

 

and this link will take you to the record for the journal - sometimes the record will provide a direct link to the article, but if not see the steps below

Or go there directly https://journalfinder.wtcox.com/cnu/

 

 

(1)

Type in the title of the Journal (magazine, newspaper, etc.) that you need - (not the article title!)

(2)

Click the Search button

(3)

If needed select the title from the list

 

(4)

Click the Computer icon to see what dates are available online

(5)

Click the Book icon to see what dates are available in the periodicals section of Trible Library

(6)

Compare the date of your article and select the database (or go to the periodical section) that contains the date you need  - in this example if you needed an article from 1990 use the Ebsco link - if you need an article in the current year use the Taylor & Francis link - if you need an article from 1970 use the print volume in periodicals

(7)

Many online titles link directly to that title in the database - then you can find the date and the article you need; in others you may need to search the entire database

(8)

Titles in the periodical section are either in print or microfiche/film and are arranged alphabetically

(9)

Remember to ask for help if you need it!

• The Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service allows CNU students, faculty, and staff to request materials (articles, books, etc.) not available in Trible library

• All you need to do is login & fill out the request form

• Your login is the same as your CNU Connect (email) login & password

Tip: If you can find it in WorldCat Discovery the system can fill the form out for you

• Other databases may have this option available as well. Look for a link or button that says

or Interlibrary Loan

 

Do you want to get the article or book yourself? 

Try going to another library

Check the library's holdings on their webpage or via WorldCat Discovery

You may wish to call the library to be sure the information is correct and find out what you need to make a copy or get a card (cash? coins? buy a printing card? proof of identity? etc.)

 

Get a VTC card at Trible library's Circulation desk before you go!

 

• This is mainly to allow you to check out books, but it is better to have it in case you find you need it, rather than be there and wish you had it.

• You will need to take this card as well as your CNU ID Card with you when you go.

• It is good for many of the local colleges and universities (not public libraries.)

 

Cooperative Borrowing Program

Public Libraries

 

 

• Trible Library does not have any agreements with area public libraries, however, if you are a resident of Virginia most will provide you with borrowing privileges - Call or check their website First to find out!