LibGuides: FNAR 403: Journal Articles

Art Images and articles

JSTOR - Advanced Search This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscriber: CNUAn online database of full-content articles from various journals in many subject areas including, but not limited to African American studies, Ecology, Economics, History, Literature and Mathematics. Many journals start with the first volume and issue; there is usually a delay of several years for accessing current issues.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ARTStor will be moving to the JStor platform in August of 2024
See https://www.jstor.org/artstor for more information.
Subscriber: CNU
A digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Other subject areas include music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history, American Studies, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Medieval Studies, Renaissance Studies, and more.
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
ProQuest Arts Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscriber: CNUA selection of databases related to the arts, including dissertations, combined into one search.

Art Databases
A to Z Database List
A list of every database available at CNU.
Art - Primary Sources

Getting Books from Other Libraries

If you need to acquire a book that CNU Library does not have, you have other options:

Request the book through Interlibrary Loan (ILL@CNU)

-usually takes 7-10 days.

Visit another library that has the book

-get a VTC (Virginia Tidewater Consortium) card at the Circulation Desk

-allows you to check out books from participating libraries

JournalFinder Search

Cite it!

Top Picks Multisubject Databases

Consider using these academic databases for current events and general topics!

ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Tutorial
Searches a variety of databases covering a wide range of topics. It provides access to full-text/image of many journals, as well as other data.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subsciber: VIVAA comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database; indexing & abstracting; content going back as far as 1887
JSTOR - Advanced Search This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscriber: CNUAn online database of full-content articles from various journals in many subject areas including, but not limited to African American studies, Ecology, Economics, History, Literature and Mathematics. Many journals start with the first volume and issue; there is usually a delay of several years for accessing current issues.
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscriber: CNU
Access a variety of topics through full-text newspapers (U.S. and International), magazines, etc.
New York Times (1851-2020) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Check Journal Finder for other available dates.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ARTStor will be moving to the JStor platform in August of 2024
See https://www.jstor.org/artstor for more information.
Subscriber: CNU
A digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Other subject areas include music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history, American Studies, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Medieval Studies, Renaissance Studies, and more.

Journal Finder
Enter name of journal you wish to find

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
WorldCat Discovery lets you search a wide variety of resources all at once. Includes links to full-text resources as well as information on the Trible Library's print collection and information on resources available from around the world. Find something you need but we don't have access - CNU students, faculty and staff can request items through the interlibrary loan service!