An online library of free educational content for students and teachers of physics. Includes links to Open Source Physics and the Physics Source, which offer physics curricula designed to engage students at the college level.
Provides over 1600 open teaching and learning resources: online presentations; course material; learning modules; podcasts; simulation tools. Created by the NSF-funded Network for Computational Nanotechnology
MyOpenMath runs on the open source, IMathAS platform, providing free hosted use of this platform in support of free, open textbooks like the ones listed on OpenTextBookStore.com. The intent is to provide classroom use of the platform, without any required cost to students, for schools wanting a managed install of the IMathAS platform, and to provide students self-study opportunities.
HathiTrust was conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation and the University of California system to establish a repository for these universities to archive and share their digitized collections. Many of the collections are publicly accessible. Collections can be searched or browsed.
One of the earliest internet projects to digitize and provide access to electronic books and texts for free. Begun in 1971 by Michael Hart who was joined by volunteers who shared his vision that "it would be a really good idea if lots of famous and important texts were freely available to everyone in the world." Gutenberg can be searched or browsed. Books on Gutenberg cover a wide range of topics, languages and dates. "Most of the Project Gutenberg eBooks are older literary works that are in the public domain in the United States. All may be freely downloaded and read, and redistributed for non-commercial use (for complete details, see the license page)." Those interested in volunteering can find information on the site on how to become involved with the project.
The Cell: An Image Library™ is a freely accessible, easy-to-search, public repository of reviewed and annotated images, videos, and animations of cells from a variety of organisms, showcasing cell architecture, intracellular functionalities, and both normal and abnormal processes.
The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines."
A database of online biomedical books from the NCBI. It "can be searched directly by typing a concept into the textbox." Information on citing these online books is provided in the FAQ section of the site.
The ChemWiki is a collaborative approach toward chemistry education where an Open Access textbook environment is constantly being written and re-written by students and faculty members resulting in a free Chemistry textbook to supplant conventional paper-based books. From UC Davis.
Provides a platform for the full text dissemination of Open Access books and provides services to publishers and libraries. OAPEN builds a quality controlled collection of Open Access books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences.
coalition of members dedicated to providing broad access to Canada's documentary heritage. Through our membership alliance, Canadian libraries share tools and capacity, partner on open-source projects, and spearhead digital preservation in Canada.
once you have selected the items you want you will be redirected to the website of the institution that owns the item, and often these sites will not have English translations. To find an item with the Creative Commons licensing you prefer -
Once you type in your initial search on the main page, you will have a list of filters on the left hand side of the page
Use the "Can I use it?" and "By Copyright" filters to narrow down your results
This is an extensive collection of valuable documents and other assorted information available from the Library of Congress. It "provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience." An excellent site for locating primary source materials related to American History.
"Art Images for College Teaching (AICT) began as a personal project dedicated to the principle of free exchange of image resources for and among members of the educational community. While the AICT site is maintained and distributed under the general auspices of the Minneapolis College of Art & Design (MCAD), this institution is not responsible for content or use thereof. All work on the AICT project has been voluntary, and MCAD-affiliated personnel have contributed innumerable hours of research, clerical, and design effort on a pro-bono basis. Use of the images displayed on this website has also been contributed on a non-royalty basis for the public good. "