HIST 305: History of Gender and Sexuality in the United States: Off Campus Access

CNU Only Access

• On Campus access is available to anyone.
• Off campus access is only for current CNU Students, Faculty, or Staff.
• CNU Life Long Learners please use the Alternative Access Instructions.

• Access your MyCNU account
• Click the myLinks icon
• Click on the Library Databases link (outlined in red below.)

• This will take you to the Library's A-Z list of databases.

• Access the Library's databases without an additional login screen by clicking on a database of your choice.

OR

• From the Library's LibGuide home page http://cnu.libguides.com/home, you can click the Library Databases link on the left side of the screen.

• If you are logged in to CNU Connect you will be taken to the A-Z list of databases and can then access a database of your choice without an additional login.

• If you are not logged in to CNU Connect you will be taken to a login screen and then to the A-Z list of databases and can then access a database of your choice without an additional login.

Troubleshooting & Help

• Troubleshooting

• Need more help with the library databases? Please let us know.

• Contact the IT Services Help Desk if you are having problems with your CNU Connect Account (757-594-7079)

CNU Only Access

• On Campus access is available to anyone.

• Off campus access is only for current CNU Students, Faculty, Staff, and Life Long Learners.

• Select a database from the A to Z list or the Subject list.

• A box should ask you to login.

• Use your last name to login and use your library barcode number from your CNU id card (Captains Card) as the password.

Don't have your barcode yet?

• Most users should be able to use 20 or 2000 in front of your id number, for a total of 10 digits.
• If this does not work then you are not registered with the library.
• Please go to the Circulation Desk and ask to be entered into the system; then you can access the databases from off campus.

For example: 2000001960

Troubleshooting & Help

• Troubleshooting

• Need more help with the library databases? Please let us know.

Troubleshooting

• This system works best with Firefox, Internet Explorer, Edge, Chrome or Safari web browsers.

• This system does not work well with Linux based operating systems.

• 403 error? Try clearing your browser cache, exiting the browser and then going back in and try again. Or try using a different browser. If that doesn't work call the Circulation desk as your account may have expired. (757-594-7133)

• Call the Circulation Desk (to have them make sure you are in the library database with the correct information. (757-594-7133)

• Do you hyphenate your last name? (Smith-Trible) Try using only your first name.

• Need more help with the library databases? Please let us know.

• Off campus access is only available to current CNU Students, Faculty and Staff
• Access the databases through the library or via CNU Connect
• You can not access them through a web search or by going directly to the site
• Others may use the services if they are in the library otherwise please use your public library website and/or try Find it Virginia 

Need More Help?

Please e-mail library@cnu.edu or call the Reference Department at 757-594-7132 and have the following information available:

• Your name
• Your id number
• Your computer operating system
• The type of browser you are using
• If you received an error message please provide it
• Is it a specific database you can not access? Or is it any database that you try?

We will check into the problem and get back to you as soon as possible with additional information.