LibGuides: HIST 211: The History of Comic Books & American Society: Media

Media of Interest

A selection of media items available in Trible Library.

Click the title for location and availability information.

300
Call Number: PN1995.9.E79 T47 2007
ISBN: 9781419858703
Based on the graphic novel by Frank Miller and Lynn Varley.
American Splendor
Call Number: PN1997.2 .A4475336 2004
ISBN: 0783123876
Based on the comic book series "American splendor" by Harvey Pekar and "Our cancer year" by Harvey Pekar and Joyce Brabner.
Ant-Man
Call Number: PN1997.2 .A58 2015
Batman
Call Number: PN1997 .B33 2005
ISBN: 9781419813245
Based upon Batman characters created by Bob Kane and published by DC Comics.
Batman Begins
Call Number: PN1997.2.B372 L44 2005
ISBN: 9781419802263
Based on the characters created by Bob Kane and DC Comics.
Batman Returns
Call Number: PN1997 .B333 2005
ISBN: 9780790798899
Based upon characters appearing in magazines published by DC Comics Inc.; based on the characters created by Bob Kane.
Batman v Superman : Dawn of Justice
Call Number: PN1997.2 .B38 2016
Black Widow
Call Number: PN1997.2 .B5351 2021 Blu-ray
ISBN: 0786936870824
Blade: Trinity
Call Number: PN1997 .B5497 2005
ISBN: 0780650344
Based on the Blade character created for Marvel Comics by Marv Wolfman & Gene Colan.
Captain America: The First Avenger
Call Number: PN1997.2 .C37 2011
Constantine
Call Number: PN1997.2 .C668 2008 Blu-Ray
ISBN: 9781419853142
Based on the characters from the DC/Vertigo comic book Hellblazer.
The Dark Knight
Call Number: PN1997.2 .B373 2008
ISBN: 9781419861192
Based upon characters appearing in comic books published by DC Comics. The Batman character was created by Bob Kane.
The Dark Knight Rises
Call Number: PN1997.2 .D375 2012
ISBN: 0780684907
Based upon characters appearing in comic books published by DC Comics; the Batman character was created by Bob Kane.
Deadpool
Call Number: PN1997.2 .D422 2016
Fantastic 4. Rise of the Silver Surfer
Call Number: PN1995.9.S26 F368 2007
Based on the characters created by Stan Lee and Jack Kirby.
Fantastic Four
Call Number: PN1995.9.S26 F216 2005
Based on the Marvel comic book by Stan Lee and Jack Kirby.
Frank Miller's Sin City
Call Number: PN1997.2 .F73 2005
ISBN: 078886047X
Based on the graphic novels by Frank Miller.
Frank Miller's Sin City : A Dame to Kill For
Call Number: PN1997.2 .S553 2014
Green Lantern
Call Number: PN1997.2 .G74 2011
Based upon characters appearing in comic books published by DC Comics.
Guardians of the Galaxy
Call Number: PN1997.2 .G83 2014
Guardians of the Galaxy vol. 2
Call Number: PN1997.2 .G832 2017
A History of Violence
Call Number: PN1997.2 .H57 2009
ISBN: 9781419878183
Based on the graphic novel by John Wagner and Vince Locke.
Iron Man
Call Number: PN1997.2 .I76 2008
Iron Man 2
Call Number: PN1997.2 .I761 2010
Iron man 3
Call Number: PN1997.2 .I7631 2013
Kick-ass
Call Number: PN1997.2 .K53 2010
Based on the comic book written by Mark Millar and John S. Romita, Jr.
Marvel's The Avengers
Call Number: PN1997.2 .M3787 2012
Persepolis
Call Number: PN1995.9.B55 P47 2008
ISBN: 9781424883141
Based on the graphic novel by Marjane Satrapi.
Red
Call Number: PN1997.2 .R44 2011
Based on the graphic novel by Warren Ellis and Cully Hamner.
Thor
Call Number: PN1997.2 .T4785 2011
Ultimate Avengers
Call Number: PN1995.9.S76 U48 2006
Based on Marvel Comics "The Ultimates" by Mark Miller and Bryan Hitch.
V for Vendetta
Call Number: PN1995.9.S87 V469 2008 Blu-Ray
ISBN: 9781419853050
Based on the graphic novel illustrated by David Lloyd.
Watchmen (Director's Cut)
Call Number: PN1997.2 .W397 2009 Blu-ray
ISBN: 9781419878930
Based on the graphic novel co-created by Dave Gibbons and published by DC Comics.
Wonder Woman
Call Number: PN1995.9.S76 W66 2017 Blu-ray/DVD combo
X-Men origins. Wolverine
Call Number: PN1997.2 .X54 2009

Search for More

From The Internet Archive

https://archive.org/details/Superman-1941

Media Online

Superman - Old Time Radio Programs from the Internet Archive
Superman at the Internet Archive
Animation & Cartoons Collection

Search for more streaming video

Academic Video Online (via ProQuest Platform) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers ~ 68,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.More than 14,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street, all with a predictable annual cost.Academic Video Online includes a variety of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, demonstrations, and raw footage. Patrons will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners. Academic institutions will find the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.
Academic Video Online (via Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Always on the cutting edge, Films On Demand‘s platform provides users with the content, tools, speed, and performance that today’s online experience demands. With films from top producers including A&E, PBS, BBC Learning, National Geographic, ABC News, NBC News, CNBC, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, HBO Documentary Films, PBS NewsHour, Open University, Bill Moyers, California Newsreel, Annenberg Learner, TED, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more.

The Superman production company donated this special 18 minute episode to the US Treasury to help promote school stamp day savings plans to children. This is the only episode of the series that has entered the public domain. It features all of the hallmarks that made the original 1950s Superman series so memorable.

This movie is part of the collection: The Video Cellar Collection at The Internet Archive. https://archive.org/details/StampDayForSUPERMAN