Primary Sources: Native Americans - American Indians - Indigenous Americans: Tribes

"The Utah American Indian Digital Archive (UAIDA) is a gateway to the best resources regarding Utah’s Indian tribes. With articles, books, government documents, tribal documents, oral histories, photographs, and maps pertaining to the Northwestern Shoshone, Goshute, Paiute, Utah Navajo, White Mesa Ute, and Northern Ute Indians."

"... was printed weekly as the official organ of the Choctaw Nation with the motto “Devoted to Indian and Stock News.” "

"In 1879 Congress established the Bureau of American Ethnology (B.A.E.) as a separate, purely research unit of the Smithsonian, independent of the National Museum. The focus of the Bureau's research was on North American Indian cultures, including important works in ethnology, archaeology, and linguistics. The B.A.E. effectively founded American anthropology (especially ethnology and linguistics) at a time when there were no advanced university degrees in the field and there were almost no full-time anthropologists employed anywhere else. The 200 Bulletins and 48 Annual Reports of the B.A.E. were the premier publications in anthropology in the country for most of the 86 years of the Bureau's existence."
http://anthropology.si.edu/outreach/depthist.html

Issues available from the Georgia Historic Newspapers Collection 1828-1834

"Articles presented on this site were originally published between 1828 and 1834 in the Cherokee Phoenix, the national newspaper of the Cherokee Nation. This site is not affiliated with any current newspaper." "The goal of Hunter Library's Cherokee Phoenix Project has been to offer the English language articles concerning Cherokee Indian and regional history found in the Cherokee Phoenix newspaper, published by the Cherokee Nation from 1828-1834. Articles of a general nature or reprinted from other periodicals but having no direct relation to Cherokee or regional history were not included."

" The four-page 5 1/2 by 7 1/2-inch, semimonthly paper was notable on two accounts: it was the first newspaper published in what became Oklahoma Territory and one of the few publications ever issued at an Indian agency."

"The Day Family were Anglo traders, on the Navajo Reservation in eastern Arizona. The collection includes the personal and business papers of Sam Day, Sr. (1845-1925) surveyor, Indian trader, legislator and United States Indian Commissioner; Anna Day, Sam Sr.'s wife (1872-1932); and of their children, Charles L. Day (1879-1918), Samuel Day, Jr. (1889-1944), United States deputy Marshall. The collection contains archaeological reports, Navajo land boundary maps and notes, business records, as well as several documents pertaining to Navajo culture, including a copy of the treaty between the U.S. Government and the Navajo nation. The Day Family Records are particularly rich in chronicling early Anglo and Navajo relations. "

"is an electronic archive of over 150 letters, 3 journals, 25 statutes and treaties, a bibliography of Jefferson’s geography books, 22 map images, and a geo-rectified cartographic database of 8 interactive maps. This collection reveals the evolution of Jefferson’s thoughts on the west as he and others made plans for the Lewis and Clark expedition of 1803-1806. These conceptions of the region, while certainly informed by the best information of Jefferson’s time, are also burdened by accepted geographical theories of the age."

Provides access to a variety of papers, correspondence, documents etc. relating to specific people and tribes as well as more general topics.

Access a digital archive that preserves the culture, language, and history of the Passamaquoddy.

Samuel de Champlain Introduces Firearms to Native Warfare, 1609

Letter to the Committee of the Free Society of Traders___1683 EXCERPTS