It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary Sources: Native Americans - American Indians - Indigenous Americans: Visual & Fine Arts
Indigenous Peoples of the 48 contiguous states of America
Subscriber: CNUA digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Other subject areas include music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history, American Studies, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Medieval Studies, Renaissance Studies, and more.
"Through the Autry’s unique collection, we enrich the public’s understanding of the historical and contemporary American West and the diversity of the indigenous cultures across the Americas. Protecting and preserving our collection for future generations is one of our greatest responsibilities. With more than 600,000 objects and cultural materials, our collection contains art, firearms, saddles, Hollywood Western memorabilia, and Native American baskets, ceramics, jewelry, and textiles animating the following themes:
Environment and Western Resources
Ranching and Cowboys
Archaeology and Anthropology
"The UCLA Fowler Museum of Cultural History's collection includes baskets made by California American Indians in the 19th and early 20th century." A selection of images from the collection is available online (click the Online items available)
"Edward Sheriff Curtis published The North American Indian between 1907 and 1930 with the intent to record traditional Indian cultures. The work comprises twenty volumes of narrative text and photogravure images. Each volume is accompanied by a portfolio of large photogravure plates.
The entire work is presented here, supported largely by funds from the Institute for Museum and Library Services."
"A concerted effort was made by Museum of Northern Arizona photographers in 1956 to begin professionally photographing individual Hopi artists - often portrait style - and sometimes with examples of their craft. Many artists, particularly those that were regular prize winners, were photographed during the Museum's regular collecting trips to the Hopi Reservation. This practice of photographing artists professionally continued until the 1970s when Museum resources were diverted elsewhere and this practice was ultimately discontinued. What remains is a thorough and comprehensive look at the development of Hopi art from a specific period, particularly as an individual artist's style evolved over this same time. Moreover, these photographs have allowed Hopi community members to see images of family and friends who were perhaps otherwise not photographed during this period. "
"The Denver Art Museum was one of the first art museums in the nation to collect Indigenous arts from North America. As early as 1925, the DAM recognized and valued the fine aesthetic qualities of Native arts, when many other institutions only valued them as anthropological material. While we collected the early artwork of Indigenous people, we also focused on the work of contemporary Native artists at every moment in time."
Artist Kay WalkingStick (Cherokee) and Jeff Chang, author of "Who We Be: The Colorization of America" and executive director of the Institute for Diversity in the Arts at Stanford University, engage in a lively dialogue about contemporary American art and culture.
VMFA’s Native American art collection includes objects dating from prehistoric times to the present day. Geographic regions that are particularly well represented include the Arctic North, Northwest Coast, Plains, and Southwest. The collection encompasses a great variety of media, including textiles, ceramics, beadwork, sculpture, painting, and photography.
"For more than 40,000 years, humans have been inspired to create what archeologists call “rock art”: paintings and engravings on natural stone surfaces. The photographs in this collection depict rock art sites throughout central and southern California."
Frank A. Rinehart, a commercial photographer in Omaha, Nebraska, was commissioned to photograph the 1898 Indian Congress, part of the Trans-Mississippi International Exposition. More than five hundred Native Americans from thirty-five tribes attended the conference, providing the gifted photographer and artist an opportunity to create a stunning visual document of Native American life and culture at the dawn of the 20th century. (BPL description)
"The Oklahoma Native Artists Project is a series of oral history interviews with Native artists, collectors, and gallery owners. The interviews are recorded in audio and video formats, and at the end of each oral history, specific examples of an artist’s work are discussed. The purpose of this project is to highlight the lives and careers of Native artists, to draw attention to the political aspects of making Native art, and to raise awareness of its cultural and economic importance. The first interviews, begun in 2010, included painters, potters, sculptors, photographers and conceptual artists over fifty years of age, most of whom had worked in the field since the 1960s. In 2012, the scope of the project was expanded to include the traditional fine arts and younger artists."
"The content and links we provide come from a variety of sources— interviews from tribal media, newspapers and magazines, academic scholarship, museum catalogues and exhibitions, and Native art and culture blogs, among others. Not all artists whose work is featured in the portal are Oklahoma-born, but all have roots in the state or ties through their respective tribal Nations or residency. "
Joan Hill, a professional artist, describes her childhood and the role her family has played in her life and career. She explains the influence of Dick West on her decision to pursue a career in Native art. She mentions some of the important people she has worked with and the projects she has done. Hill comments on the issues she sees facing Indian communities today and her goals for expressing those in her artwork. She goes on to talk about her creative process and artistic style choices."
"As a missionary, teacher, and photographer, Daniel Boone Linderman documented the Pima and Maricopa during the early 20th century. His photographs center on Native American ethnography, particularly showcasing mission schools, group portraits of families and their homes, and farming. "
"This collection presents a brief introduction to the rock art of Cochise County, Arizona. A wide diversity of prehistoric and historic rock art is found in the county including petroglyphs and pictographs. Petroglyphs are carved rock designs and pictographs are painted rock designs. Rock art is much more than meaningless sketches. It is a visual record from the past of various concepts, such as ceremony, religion, life style and art. Five different cultures are represented in the collection images; Apache, Hohokam, Mimbres and Mogollon. Rock art is being threatened by natural deterioration, vandalism and development. This collection is Cochise College Libraries effort toward its preservation."
"Pittsburgh native Walter McClintock graduated from Yale in 1891. In 1896 he traveled west as a photographer for a federal commission investigating national forests. McClintock became friends with the expedition’s Blackfoot Indian scout, William Jackson or Siksikakoan. When the commission completed its field work, Jackson introduced McClintock to the Blackfoot community of northwestern Montana. Over the next twenty years, supported by the Blackfoot elder Mad Wolf, McClintock made several thousand photographs of the Blackfoot, their homelands, their material culture, and their ceremonies." Beinecke Library - Yale University
Includes the following collections:
Oliver Cowdery Docket Book
A. A. Hart Stereographs of the Central Pacific Railroad
Otis Marston Colorado River Collection
Mormonism and the West
Native American Photographs Project
Western Americana Drawings
John Trudell -- Elizabeth Woody -- Norman Guardipee -- Rick Bartow -- Bonnie Blackwolf -- Sherman Alexie -- Litefoot -- Jesse Hummingbird -- James Welch -- Winona La Duke -- Dino Butler -- Buffy Sainte-Marie