Primary Sources: World War II: Canada

"This site tells the story of Canada 's conscientious objectors in the Second World War. The Mennonite Heritage Centre received funding for this project in part from the Canadian Council of Archives and Heritage Canada to digitize materials in the Heritage Centre's collection related to this topic." Some primary source documents are available.

"an online archive of the Canadian war experience, from any war, as told through the letters and images of Canadians themselves. It began in August 2000, located in the Department of History at Vancouver Island University."

"The Canadian Military History Gateway is an online service providing access to Websites and digitized resources about Canada's military history. The Gateway was developed by the Directorate of History and Heritage at Department of National Defence (DND) as an initiative supported by the National Defence On-Line (NDOL) programme and the Department of Canadian Heritage's Canadian Culture Online Program.
The goal of the Gateway is to "provide the public with free access to the collective military history resources of Canadian museums, libraries, archives and other heritage organizations through a single, dynamic and intuitive gateway". "

"The Canadian Military Oral History Collection is composed of interviews of veterans of WWI, WWII, the Korean War and the War in Afghanistan. Over 370 recordings done by Dr. Reginald H. Roy and his students are the largest holding in this category. Historian Hal Lawrence also donated over 180 recordings that he collected of Canadian Naval personnel."

"... this national museum presents Canada’s military past and how it shaped the country. Its outstanding exhibitions explain Canada’s rich military history from earliest times to the present, featuring the experiences of people on the battlefields and at home."

"The holdings of the Print Collection in the Rare Books and Special Collections Division include some 250 Canadian posters from the two World Wars. The posters are accessible to researchers who visit the Division's Lande Reading Room; a printed finding aid is available from the Reading Room Supervisor.
This website contains basic descriptions and images of each poster, an artist index, a search facility, and an essay about Canadian War Posters."

"The differing roles played by Canadians during times of conflict, at home and abroad, are featured in this website. The website provides access to a portion of wartime-related textual records and photographs that have been selected from larger collections within the holdings of the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections and digitized for research purposes."

From the Canadian Broadcast Companies Archives provides access to a variety of materials relating to Canada's involvement in World War II

"t was the Second World War. A million young Canadians were marching off to risk their lives. One of them, David K. Hazzard, was separated from his beloved wife Audrey, but soon found a way to fight the loneliness – with his pen.He wrote hundreds of letters, beginning each the same way – 'Dear Sweetheart.' They are a riveting account of what he went through. "
A collection from the Globe and Mail

An online exhibit from the Candian War Museum -
"During the Second World War, the staff of the century-old Hamilton Spectator newspaper kept its own monumental record of the war. This collection of more than 144,000 newspaper articles, manually clipped, stamped with the date, and arranged by subject, includes news stories and editorials from newspapers, mostly Canadian, documenting every aspect of the war. You are invited to explore the online database using either the Basic search or the detailed search, which includes a date searching feature. Short historical articles on key topics from the 1939-1945 time period, along with sample clippings from the collection, supplement this impressive resource of news information "as it happened". "

"This database features photographs of men and women who served in the Canadian Forces during the Second World War. The photographs, taken from the Department of National Defence (DND) collection at Library and Archives Canada, depict every aspect of military life during the Second World War."
"This archived Web page remains online for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. This page will not be altered or updated. "

"Library and Archives Canada (LAC) helps Canadians gain a better understanding of who they are. It serves as the continuing memory of the federal government and its institutions and as the guardian of Canada’s distant past and recent history. "

"This nationwide bilingual project will create a record of Canada’s participation in the Second World War and Korean War as seen through the eyes of thousands of veterans. The Memory Project will provide every living Second World War and Korean War veteran with the opportunity to share their memories through oral interviews and digitized artefacts and memorabilia. These stories and artefacts will be available on this site for teachers, students and the general public.
The Memory Project Archives is an initiative of Historica Canada and is made possible with generous funding from Canadian Heritage."

"This nationwide bilingual project offers an unprecedented account of Canada’s participation in the Second World War through thousands of firsthand veteran testimonials."

An online exhibit provided by the Archives of Ontario on life on the Canadian home front during World War II.

Provides information related to Canada's participation in various wars. Includes primary sources materials such as "Heroes Remember interviews."