"Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio or video clips from BBC archives." Use the drop-down menus provided to select a country, territory, or international organization. Provides an overview, basic facts, information on leaders, and media information. Also provides related links, video and audio clips, etc.
"The Library contains a wealth of information, from unclassified current publications to basic references, reports and maps. The Library features our most popular publication, The World Factbook, and our online directory of Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments. It also features numerous documents and articles of historical significance, including those found in Studies in Intelligence."
The FactBook is produced from information gathered for the Central Intelligence Agency. In it users will find information about countries of the world including background information, maps, geographical information, population information and more.
"U.S. law requires the Secretary of State to provide Congress, by April 30 of each year, a full and complete report on terrorism with regard to those countries and groups meeting criteria set forth in the legislation. This annual report is entitled Country Reports on Terrorism. Beginning with the report for 2004, it replaced the previously published Patterns of Global Terrorism."
"The Doing Business in…..” booklets have been prepared for the use of clients, partners and staff of HLB International member firms. It is designed to give some general information to those contemplating doing business in other countries and are not intended to be comprehensive documents." HLB is an international organization of accounting firms. Select a booklet from the drop-down list provided to view the information provided about a particular country.
"The Economist Intelligence Unit is the foremost research and analysis resource in the world. Founded in 1946 as an in-house research unit for The Economist, we now deliver trusted business intelligence and advice to over 1.5 million decision-makers from the world’s leading companies, financial institutions, governments and universities."
The ELDIS database, hosted by Institute of Development Studies in Sussex, was created as an information gateway for development issues. It has a variety of resources including summaries, links to online documents, a directory of websites, databases, library catalogs, country profiles, resource guides, and email discussion lists and news services. Quick access to resources is provided through the topically arrranged guides which cover subjects such as: ageing populations, education, conflict, poverty, etc. The site can also be searched.
This site was designed by the Center for International Business Education and Research at Michigan State University. It is "a knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities." It provides access to over 5000 online resources, country insights, an interactive forum, research and teaching resources as well as decision making tools and an "interactive forum for business professionals."
"...offers a variety of demographic indicators for 224 countries and areas of the world. The IDB has provided access to demographic data for over 25 years to governments, academics, other organizations, and the public. It is funded by organizations that sponsor the research of the Census Bureau's International Programs Center."
The original intent was to focus primarily on lesser known areas of the world or regions in which U.S. forces might be deployed, therefore the series is not all-inclusive. Includes extensive information on the country including history, culture and society, as well as a basic overview. However, information on some countries may not be current. Check the Research Completed Date for each study.
A site that compiles data from sources such as the CIA World FactBook, UNESCO, WorldBank, etc. in order to allow comparison of information from country to country. A variety of methods are provided to access the data. The source of the information is supplied.
"OECD brings together the governments of countries committed to democracy and the market economy from around the world..." The site provides access to statistical data as well as documents and other publications. Much of the information is available for free.
Provided by the OECD, "the key tables by country statistical profiles include a wide range of indicators on economy, education, energy, environment, foreign aid, health, information and communication, labour, migration, R&D, trade and society. Historical data refer to the latest eight time periods."
"... is a non-governmental Internet-based project that provides reference materials, primary documents, comparative studies and statistical data for countries in the Western Hemisphere." Users can choose to access the database in English, French, Spanish, or Portuguese. Search the database by keyword or select a country to see the available information. Information can also be accessed by topics. Note: Some of the information is provided in the language of the country.
This site is a project of the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA.) Find links to background information about the country that covers general information, disaster history, health, history, travel information, etc. It also provides news about the current situation in the country and current disasters worldwide.
"This site contains lists of heads of state and heads of government (and, in certain cases, de facto leaders not occupying either of those formal positions) of all countries and territories, going back to about 1700 in most cases. Also included are the subdivisions of various countries (the links are at the bottom of the respective country entries), as well as a selection of international organizations. Recent foreign ministers of all countries are listed separately."
Provides access to statistical information about Canada covering population, resources, economy, society and culture. Some information may require payment for access, however users can limit searches to free information only. Access is available in both English and French.
Provides a wealth of information on a country. In addition each country has a "country page" containing additional information about the country; found by clicking on the official country name in the note.
Data by country, region, and commercial group (OECD, OPEC). Includes "total and crude oil production, oil consumption, natural gas production and consumption, coal production and consumption, electricity generation and consumption, primary energy, energy intensity, CO2 emissions and imports and exports for all fuels."
Also provides Country Analysis Briefs available for selected countries.
"The numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators."
Provided by the United Nations
Created "to work with others to overcome the obstacles that poverty, violence, disease and discrimination place in a child’s path," the UNICEF website provides information on the variety of programs and services provided. Information on the state of children can be located by country or view the current State of the World's Children Report. The site provides statistical information, reports, and videos.
The United Nations (UN) is an international cooperative designed to aid in world peace. The UN does not make laws or act as a world wide government. The website can be accessed in several languages. The site provides access to a variety of information, publications and resources on programs and services provided by the UN. The site has an index and a search function or can be browsed. The CyberSchool Bus area (http://www.un.org/Pubs/CyberSchoolBus/index.html) provides easy access to quick information about countries, statistics, and the organization itself. There is also an archive of documents, UN webcasts, UN library and more.
Popin is "a guide to population information on UN system web sites." Locate a variety of statistical data related to population. Also provides links to the various agencies who gather the data. Includes some full-text publications from the agencies as well.
The library does not have a subscription to the subscriber databases, however several useful databases are available for free:
Demographic Yearbook System
Distat, the United Nations Disability Statistics Database
Good practices database
Millennium Indicators Database
National Accounts Main Aggregates Database
Population of capital cities and cities of 100,000 and more inhabitants
Population and housing censuses
Population and Vital Statistics on Internet
Statistics and indicators on women and men
"DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them."
The World Bank was created to fight poverty and improve living conditions for the developing world. The website provides information on the services provided, projects, statistics, research etc. Some of the information is available online for free, while other information requires a purchase or subscription access. Browsing through the Topics area of the site is an easy way to access information.
The Coverdell program is based on experiences of Peace Corps Volunteers. Provides information for teachers, students, and those in the Peace Corps. Includes primary source information provided by actual Volunteers. Also provides information such as links to to pages about countries, maps, lesson plans for teaching about cultures, videos, and more.