"The sheet music in this digital collection has been selected from the Sheet Music Collection at the John Hay Library at Brown University. The full collection consists of approximately 500,000 items, of which perhaps 250,000 are currently available for use. It is one of the largest collections of sheet music in any library in the United States. The sheet music, primarily vocal music of American imprint, dates from the 18th century to the present day, with the largest concentration of titles in the period 1840-1950."
"War, social injustice, personal plaints, and calls for action have long fueled musical creation and performance. In Classic Protest Songs, Mark Gustafson and Jeff Place tap the historic Smithsonian audio collections to compile 22 songs favored by leaders of antiwar, civil rights, industrial labor, farm worker, and other struggles to air their grievances. Woody Guthrie, Lead Belly, Janis Ian, Big Bill Broonzy, Pete Seeger, Barbara Dane, Guy Carawan, Phil Ochs, and other marquee artists let their voices ring out with calls for peace and justice."
"For nearly 60 years Pete Seeger, with his banjo and 12-string guitar, has made music which inspires people to improve their lives and world. Selections on this anthology, culled from the hundreds Seeger recorded for Folkways Records between 1955 and 1999, include concert and studio recordings about prominent events and themes of the twentieth century: the Spanish Civil War, union organizing, and the civil rights and antiwar movements"
"For over 50 years Pete Seeger's music has included songs on labor, civil rights, peace, and the hope for a better world. This CD contains 24 tracks selected from hundreds released on Folkways Records in the late 1950s and 1960s and 2 new songs recorded especially for this collection. Pete plays the 5-string banjo and the 12-string guitar and appears on some tracks with Almanac Singers and his grandson Tao Rodriguez."
"This collection of songs was written and performed by Peter La Farge, the first Native American to become known in the folk scene of the 1960s. His colorful history included riding bucking broncos, working for an armored car company, and serving in the U.S. Navy in Korea—experiences that became material for his lyrics."
"Jericho-Jim Crow by Langston Hughes is a musical production that focuses on themes from the civil rights movement and features music significant to the same period. Performers include former cast members of the original Broadway production of Porgy and Bess as well as gospel singers who made a living touring and performing around the US. Together, the cast of Jericho-Jim Crow gives a powerful performance of passionate acting and stirring gospel singing."
"This 1965 recording traces the evolution of African American folk music from the South.The oral tradition of folk music in the African American community has demonstrated a perseverence through the eras of slavery and segregation while embracing and influencing American popular music through songs, lyrics and performance."
"Songs of struggle, hope, and vision fueled the Chicano Movement's quest for civil rights, economic justice, and cultural respect. Rolas de Aztlán (songs from the Chicano ancestral homeland) spotlights 19 milestone recordings made between 1966 and 1999 by key Chicano artist/activists—Daniel Valdez, Los Lobos del Este de Los Angeles (later Los Lobos), Agustín Lira and Teatro Campesino, Los Alacranes Mojados, Conjunto Aztlan, and many more! "
Hymns, speeches, spirituals, gospel songs, and prayers...a moving civil rights collection drawn from 1960s field recordings in Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi, and Tennessee. The compilation captures the irrepressible spirit of that era and reveals a determined and triumphant African American culture. A collection of glorious songs and heartstopping selections by The SNCC Freedom Singers, Martin Luther King, Jr., Ralph Abernathy, and others. "...[T]here is wonderful singing here, great conviction, and the immediacy of living truth...powerful documentation of the most important social movement of our time."
"This 1961 recording of spirituals, gospel and new music to "express the spirit of freedom" was the result of an effort by producer and performer Guy Carawan to bring together singers representative of hundreds of thousands African American students from the south participating in sit-ins, stand-ins and freedom rides for "first class citizenship" during the civil rights movement. The songs are performed by The Montgomery Gospel Trio, comprised of three high school girls from Alabama, as well as four seminary students who call themselves "The Nashville Quartet" in an impromtu session as recorded by Moses Asch."
"Starting with 3200 people in Selma, Alabama and ending in Montgomery, Alabama with 25,000, the Selma-to-Montgomery March is considered to have "...represented the political and emotional peak of the modern civil rights movement." For some, "...the best and most lasting evidence of [the spirit of the event] was to be found in the songs that evolved from the march." This collection of songs was compiled by Pete Seeger, Len Chandler, and the Freedom Voices. It represents one of the most powerful tools behind this movement-song."
Book & Media Sources: Civil Rights - Music
A selection of books/e-books available in Trible Library.
Click the title for location and availability information.