"The purpose of this project is to present comprehensive, complex, human, collective, and individual pictures of the people who have made up ACT UP/New York. These men and women of all races and classes have transformed entrenched cultural ideas about homosexuality, sexuality, illness, health care, civil rights, art, media, and the rights of patients. "
"The Gay Peoples Union Collection presents digital copies of primary source materials documenting GPU -- the most important gay and lesbian rights organization in Milwaukee during the 1970s -- and Milwaukee's gay liberation movement. Materials were selected from collections housed in the UWM Libraries Division of Archives and Special Collections. "
"The GLBT Historical Society collects, preserves, exhibits and makes accessible to the public materials and knowledge to support and promote understanding of LGBTQ history, culture and arts in all their diversity."
"The Lesbian Herstory Archives is home to the world's largest collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities." Materials are not available online, however, information is provided about using the archives from a distance - see the How to use the archives section of the site for details.
"...Among the many activist groups that worked to archive this history was the International Gay Information Center (IGIC), which grew out of the History Committee of GAA. The IGIC archives operated as a community-based repository until 1988, when the organization's directors gave the collection to The New York Public Library. The IGIC archives, along with other archives and collections subsequently donated to the Library, such as the Barbara Gittings and Kay Tobin Lahusen Gay History Papers and Photographs, comprehensively document the gay and lesbian civil rights struggles in New York since the 1950s and have made NYPL one of the most important archives of LGBT history in the United States."
"...provides an electronic information clearinghouse for these archival collections and other historical data about LGBT religious history for the use of historians, researchers and other interested persons. " Some resources are available online; includes an oral history archive.
The mission of the project is "to collect, preserve, and promote an active knowledge of the history, arts, and culture relevant to sexually diverse communities in metropolitan Washington DC." Select materials are available online.
"... has been documenting the history of the Central Coast of California and the institutional history of UC Santa Cruz since 1963, through oral history. This web site includes the complete catalog of our collection, oral history resources, and links to other oral history sites on the Internet. All of the oral histories are available in full text (PDF). "
Book Sources: LGBT - Civil Rights
A selection of books/e-books available in Trible Library.
Click the title for location and availability information.